Finally Fiber

Well maybe. I’ve gone through a bunch of project bags thinking I’d finish up a UFO or so this weekend. A group of us from work are heading north on Sunday to Mt Vernon WA to the Tulip Fest! (my Dad was born in Mt Vernon!!) We’re all taking our cameras and plan to stop along the way to take plenty of pictures. Another Nancy (I know 3 or 4 Nancy’s) will be driving so I’ll have about 12-13 hours of road trip knitting over a couple of days. I’ll take a pair of socks I’m working on, a lace capelet and will start (and hopefully finish) a pair of Honeycomb Cable Fingerless Gloves.

Something I’ve been wanting to knit (now for next winter) is the Tahki St Charles Taos Vest. I bought the pattern when we took the train to Portland last December. I thought by now I’d have enough of 5 different handspun bulky weight yarns to knit it. Nope. I have enough if I put together 5 that don’t go well together. Maybe if I blend in more cat fur I’ll have enough. Ruby bathed and napped in the handspun bowl for over an hour.
ruby-bowl-2

Rufus had his annual check up last Friday. He’s going to be 13 this fall. Slowing down at bit but he passed his physical and senior blood panel with flying colors. We keep both Ruby and Rufus on a megacolon high fiber diet and Rufus has disc problems where his tail meets his back bone. Aside from that he’s doing well. A while back I bought him a bench so he could jump on the bed easier. What used to be a single leap had turned into 4 or 5 wiggle butts and then a “Mom I need some help”. Lately he’d added a few more wiggle butts to his launch to the couch. So the Easter Bunny dropped of this cherry step stool for him. Took him a few hours to figure out what it was for. Now he uses it every time.
cherry-bench

What did the Easter Bunny bring Knitting Hubby? Chocolate of course. The EB delivered it in one of Graham’s baskets. Graham, back when he had time, used to do basketry. This was one of his early ones.
easter-basket

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Guinifer
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 07:45:29

    Doesn’t it just break your heart to watch those furry little friends slow down? I used to be able to count the wiggles before my tabby could get onto our bed.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 08:38:13

    Oh, poor Rufus. *gentle pats* I’m glad he’s really healthy at least!

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 17:52:46

    Rufus is so very sweet and he looks very dignified in his basket. I hope you have a wonderful time in Mt. Vernon.

    Reply

  4. Roxie
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 06:38:45

    Ruby in the yarn bowl knows how lovely she is! If you pluck out the pink and orange skeins, you have a magazine cover photo there. She looks SO happy!

    Poor old Rufus. How good you are to him.

    And Knitting Hubby – wow, he makes a bodacious basket!

    Reply

Leave a comment