Art history 101 and a contest

Why do I keep doing this? Well one cause I love art. I’m the person in the museums that sets off the little alarms saying ‘too close too close”. When I see a piece of art from a far, I take it all in from a ways off, then slowly walk up and start looking at the indiviual brushstrokes. Brush strokes of paint put there by Van Gogh, fingerprints in the pottery of Picasso, tape that wasn’t quite torn off the straight lines of a Stella. That artist was there, and I am only separated from that person by an inch or two, maybe a sheet of glass, and time. And not just modern art. I look closely at art of ancient peoples and cultures. How did they do it all with the tools and technology they had?

And I want to share with you. Some artists have been my favorites, some it’s the subject matter, some the use of color. And isn’t knitting all about color and shapes? Don’t you do the same with someone else’s knitting during your SNB during show and tell? When we all pass around all our latest socks or sweaters or newly acquired stash, we look at the play of the color, the light and the brushstrokes of the knitted fabric. Here is the Renior painting that the dog was from. You’ve probably seen this painting a few times!
renior.jpg
I’ve introduced you to Thiebaud, Bosch, paintings by Van Gogh that were inspired by Hiroshige and a dog by Renior. Tonight it’s a cat.
cat-on-grass1.jpg
So…what painting is this cat from? ‘Nother fun sock bag is on the line!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 05:00:37

    I have no idea at all! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Oh yeah, I’m not finished with that vacation stuff, am I?
  3. Eve
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 06:29:16

    For some reason the light makes me think of Rembrandt, but that’s probably not right. I’ve been to a few galleries but I’m no art history major!

    Reply

  4. Olga
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 06:41:47

    Could it be by Albrecht Durer? The cat kinda has the same look as his rabbit oicture.

    Reply

  5. heideho
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 07:32:44

    I’ve no idea who painted this kitty, but he/she has an eerie, human-like expression… almost like a person who has not quite completed the transformation into a cat.

    Reply

  6. Miss T
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 07:46:19

    No idea–but I like to look at paintings the same way you do, from far off then up very close.

    Reply

  7. kmkat
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 08:37:39

    Something about the cat’s funky, chunky perspective makes me thing of early 19th century American painters. Argh, I can’t think of a single one’s name right now (I never liked them all that much) so I can’t make a proper guess. The brushwork on the fur looks way too good to be a primitive, though, like they were.

    Reply

  8. heideho
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 17:31:03

    The haunting, accusatory look on this kitty’s face has me coming back again and again for clues as to where he/she came from.

    Reply

  9. Susan
    Jul 16, 2007 @ 17:57:39

    I’m going to guess Renoir….but I think I spelled it wrong. (This is a great idea for a contest!)

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Serendipitous Opportuknitty
  11. jessie
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 03:15:07

    I have no idea who painted the cat, I just wanted to share your feeling of connection between yourself and the artist long gone. I was recently at an exhibit of ancient Greek sculpture and it was eerie (in a good way) to be so close to something so beatiful almost 3,000 years old.

    I feel the same way about any antiques and even the discarded objects I dig up around our old farmhouse. Water jugs, etc. I feel like being close to them or touching them brings me in touch with the past.

    Either it’s very cool or I need to get a life. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Suzanne Ress
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 10:28:25

    Van der Meer?

    Reply

  13. Karen O.
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 11:29:49

    I give up. I keep thinking that it’s Durer or a painter of that period, but I can’t find any with that darn cat in it. I know I have seen it before, but my one art history class that I took in 1990 has long gone from my useful memory bank. Maybe Van Eyck or Leonardo da Vinci.

    Reply

  14. Tanya
    Jul 21, 2007 @ 15:24:37

    Lol, i love the cat! (cute contest idea) Hmmm…could he be in the same painting hiding under the tablecloth? (just joking )

    Reply

Leave a comment