Walking walking

In preparation of my 2014 Camino I’ve set the short term goal to walking at least 10km 3 days a week. So far I’ve met that goal. I’m very comfortable as long as I am walking at my pace, unloaded. When we go to Seattle we put in 15-16km a day with nary a thought. By February – yes that’s a few days away, I’d like to be walking 12-17 km  3 days a week and start adding a load. I’m planning an early May camino, something like Roncesvalles (or Zubiri, a bit larger village) to Burgos on the Camino Francis. Long term of course is to add mileage and add weight to my pack.

Near daily I have been wearing my Keen Verdi boots with SuperFeet inserts. I don’t know how many miles you can get out of a pair of SuperFeet before they need to be replaced. I bought the boots mid-summer. I supinate but not bad, the boots do show the wear pattern. And the inside heel is starting to wear. I usually wear a pair of either thin SmartWool socks or a WigWam brand CoolMax (or REI equivalent).

I am nearly completely kitted. I have two backpacks. A Mammut Crea Light and a Lowe Alpine Centro. Both women’s packs. The Mammut is the best fit, the lightest but has less cushioning in the shoulder pads and the fabric is lighter. The Lowe is about 1/2″ to long and weighs an additional pound due to heavier fabric and cushier shoulder pads. Same colors (as if that is important) Kind of dark raspberry colored with grey highlights. I wanted something that stood out from the rest of the packs out there. I think (but don’t know if) this fits the bill. I have not weighed my kit, though I do have a rough estimate in a spreadsheet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

