Titanium

If you were to add up the mileage on all our vehicles you’d get a total of 495,800 miles. 24,000 of that are on my motorcycles. More than the average distance to the moon and back. Nearly 237,000 miles of that, a one way trip to the moon, was on our 1997 Nissan Pathfinder. We bought it in September of 1996. Took it on all our driving vacations for many years. South Dakota and back. Canada many times. More Seattle and Oregon coast trips than I can count. Not to mention all the 50+ mile commutes every day that it did for years.

My Nissan Frontier Crew Cab has 180,000 miles on the odo. We think it’s time to keep it closer to home. It too has had its share of long road trips.

We can’t fit Juneau and luggage in the Mini Cooper at the same time. It’s either/or. And Juneau no longer fits in the front seat. So it’s out as a vacation-mobile.

So it was time to retire the Pathfinder. Juneau and I have been looking for a SUV that she can grow into. As much as we would have loved another Subaru Outback (it had been Graham’s car), it wouldn’t have been long before she couldn’t get up and turn around to stretch her legs. A Toyota RAV 4? Nice and deep cargo area but not much room between the back seats and the rear window. A Subaru Tribeca? Long, wide cargo area but the rear window angles funny cutting off 1/3 of the usable space.

Two weeks ago Juneau and I spotted a couple Toyota FJ Cruisers at a local used lot. It’s a SUV that Knitting Hubby and I have been thinking about since the came out a few years ago. So Juneau and I stopped to look at them. As we walked onto the lot, the salesman asked “Are you looking for a car for you or your dog?”. Yes for my dog. We didn’t test drive. Juneau checked out the room in the cargo area. A fantastic fit with plenty of room to grow. We called Knitting Hubby and told him about our find, and the fit. That Sunday we test drove one at the Toyota dealership (the used lot is closed on Sunday’s) and found it comfortable, with very usable space for our needs. Granted, we’ll need to issue step stools to Mom and Dad the next time they come visit… Bought a Titanium Silver FJ on the following Monday. Yes, it gets questionable gas mileage, but so does my pickup. We’ll just have to find that sweet spot on the speedometer. (this is a file photo. I’ll be taking actuals when we find some place pretty to take pictures) We now have 3 silver vehicles!

Knitting Hubby has been in Boston the past week visiting Graham. Graham is done with his first year of grad school and took a day off from work last Friday so the both of them could go to New York City for three days. They had a fantastic time, went to tons of museums (jealous!!) and saw Hair on Broadway.

So Juneau and I participated in Americanine Idol on Saturday. We arrived too late to do the Poochapalooza Fun Run/Walk. Juneau did do the “Peanut Butter Lick” and came in in the middle of the pack. She also ran in the “Big Dogs Derby (51lbs & up) race”. 50 yard course. She came in dead last, about 10 yards back from the closely packed field. Everyone cheered her on though since she is such a cutie. We were there 4.5 hours and I think we both had a great time. Juneau is such a good Great Dane ambassador. She wanted to meet and greet everyone – human and doggies. I’ll post the couple of pictures I took as soon as I remember to download them…

I’m still slowly working on my Multnomah shawl. Knit a little here, frog a little there. You know how it goes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    May 25, 2010 @ 11:36:17

    Congrats on your new vehicle!

    Reply

  2. Jeanne
    May 25, 2010 @ 17:18:50

    Congrats on the new car – glad you found something for Juneau to get around in!

    THe Americanine Idol sounds great – glad she had fun!

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 06:32:52

    Congratulations on the new car! You need to Christen it with a nice long road trip to the west side of the state. My DH’s Echo has almost 250,000 miles on it. It’s been a fabulous little commuting car. Hope all is well with you. We’re in the midst of the end-of-the-school-year marathon right not. Hugs to you and KH, scritches to the critters.

    Reply

  4. Lucille
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 06:26:04

    That is really a nice car…
    I like it too… My car is a tiny car…
    Need to tell my human that I really like this one – sure she will like it too…
    Ciao Lucille

    Reply

  5. Honey the Great Dane
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 21:15:15

    Congrats on your new car – it’s gorgeous!

    And Juneau – I can’t wait to see your photos from Americanine Idol (what a funny idea!) – I really had to laugh at you coming last – YUP! You show them what Danes are all about – am proud of you – it takes a lot of skill to be the slowest, you know! 🙂 In my training class, I’m always the SLOWEST to do a Down and my human gets very frustrated with me – am still arranging my legs while all the other dogs and humans are watching me and laughing – well, what’s the big deal about being the fastest to lie down anyway? Any collie can do that! It takes a DANE to do it slowly and properly! Hee! Hee! 😀

    SLobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

