Little Steps

Little steps is how I’m getting some knitting done on my Multnomah shawl. I had about 6″ of depth done when I realized there were two little holes that were not part of the pattern. I’d accidentally (because I wasn’t watching close enough) run my needle under the previous row stitch rather than under the other needle resulting in holes. Darn. And double darn when I frogged back and reknitted two rows and noticed I should have frogged back an additional row. Now I am back on track.

Why did I start yet one more project when I have, oh, 5 or 6 languishing in project bags? Cough cough. Mmm, I have excuses for near everything. Some of the projects I am at a decision point as to do I bind off now and finish the dang thing or do I continue on for the added length I’d planned for? Annie Stole and Noro Striped Scarf. Handspun Knucks, bored. Olympic Reindeer Hat, what was I thinking…. Those sweaters Penny always asks about, I just need to finish 2.75 sleeves. Multnomah is my feel good project right now. Portable. I can stop and start anywhere in the pattern right now since it’s all garter with KFB’s and YO’s. When I get to the feather and fan border then I’ll have to pay attention.

Ruby is a happy girl right now (as long as sister Juneau leaves her alone). Birds are back in abundance so Ruby has been spending quality time watching from her “perch” in the dining room. This time of year we get some natural light sweeping across the dining room and both Rufus and Ruby find it for sun bathing. Juneau was spayed last week and Rufus and Ruby thought she’d be down for the count since she was going to be on doggie downers for a week. Au contraire, mes amis. The pills didn’t give R&R a moment of respite.


Teddy (Graham and Rachel’s pup) had an adventure this past weekend. During off-peak hours, non-service dogs are allowed on Boston’s subways. Dogs must be properly leashed and are not allowed to annoy riders or take up a seat. So probably Juneau would never qualify and that’s ok because the likelihood of Juneau going to Boston is nil. Graham and Rachel took Teddy to see the Arnold Arboretum and that took a couple of transfers. Doesn’t Teddy look like he’s going to enjoy the ride!?

Meanwhile back at the ranch. Still no weaving or spinning. So I’ve added more Bloglines so I can live vicariously through the fiber arts of others…

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:24:26

    Just thought I would drop you a line to let you know how much I am LOVING!!! the Matchless. We are best friends now. Thanks so so much.

    B

    Reply

  2. Theresa
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 10:39:03

    Glad to hear Juneau is perky after surgery. I didn’t know that about Boston’s subway. How fun.
    It’s okay to have lots of projects started, no excuses needed here for not finishing! 😉

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 15:40:35

    We (meaning any of us who are ready for better weather and need a break from the bleak, long months when we were very good and restrained ourselves from stabbing those people who annoyed us while we were trapped inside) need a get away. Should I maybe look for a timeshare someplace where we can all meet up with booze and fiber? You could even bring Multnomah!

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 15:42:56

    Chaos and Mayhem are enjoying sunlight and birds, too. Glad Juneau did well with the surgery!

    Reply

  5. Jeanne
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 05:03:49

    I’m glad Juneau did well with the surgery and that there was no interruption to her “relationship” with R&R 🙂

    Too funny about the subway thing – I don’t think Penny would be a candidate to ride though – she would growl at everyone to show how fearless she is (while hiding behind me of course).

    Enjoy the sun!

    Reply

  6. ladyoftheloom
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 07:46:50

    Yay for Juneau!

    I was in a store the other day and what I thought was a baby in a cart was a little pug dressed up in clothes. That is the quirky southern city of Richmond VA for you. Quirky but fun.

    Reply

  7. Rae
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 07:37:52

    Penny has sweaters from 2 years ago that are lurking in the corners. She has no right to ask about your sweaters!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

