Big Yellow Sugar Magnolia

    My day started out with reading Orin’s Facebook post that was a play on Big Yellow Taxi. (And I had also referenced it in a conversation on Friday.) My day was capped with Jennifer using a Sugar Magnolia reference. So what have I been singing all day and night? Right. Royal earworm. Good thing I love both songs!

    Thought I’d finally give you some close ups of my otrebmo cowl. Knit from the bottom up using my most recent hand spun. It may be a gift, not sure. Depends on whether I can get it to soften up a bit.

    Yesterday was our annual Yarn Train to Portland OR trip, 4.5 hours each way on the Amtrak Empire Builder. That now makes three Saturdays in a row that I’ve been on that train. This year we had Jessica, Nancy, Kim, Lisa and her husband Kurt and I. We were met again by our Vancouver WA friend and partner in crime – Heide of Serendipitous Opportuknitty. We were on our way by 5:35 am. Committed, dedicated yarn shoppers.

    The sun didn’t come up for another couple of hours so we all, ok most of us, started up our train knitting projects. As the sky started to lighten up I noticed that the ties were missing from the window coverings closest to Jessica and I. So I sacrificed some of my handspun to tie the curtains back so we could see out the window. It was still there on our return trip. I wonder if it will make it to Chicago on Monday.

    When the sun did come up the view was a treat. I like the view much better from the Washington side. Only accessed by WA State Highway 14 or the Amtrak train. Friday I’ll be driving the Oregon side on our way to Portland to have our Mini serviced.

    Remember. This is not the part of the Columbia River I see from my office. This is well over 2.5 hours away.

    The sun was shinning bright by the time we were into the deciduous trees. We rolled into a fog bank though entering Vancouver WA and over the bridge into Portland OR. (the pictures above were taken at 70mph through dirty train windows)

    Another wonderful tradition is Heide meeting us at the train station with candy canes. We love you Heide!!!!! Since we had 7 yarn adventurers and a car with only 5 seats AND the weather was beautiful and sunny, we walked all day.

    Our first stop – Dublin Bay Knitting Company. Oh my. How have I missed this one?? There we were greeted by Tricia (owner) and Nancy (Mom). Beautiful store, tons of quality yarn and patterns, not to mention fun doo-dads and art to buy. Comfy couches for knitting, drinking tea, knitting and watching The Ultimate Fighter on SPIKE tv. Really, not kidding. Tricia and Nancy (Mom) were wonderful, made us so welcome in their beautiful shop and we almost didn’t want to leave.

    We checked out our newly obtained Pearl District map of Portland and figured out that almost all of our destinations of the day were a straight walk down 11th. What great planning on our part! We, ok, Kim and I had been lured off course though by a bakery we’d seen on our way to Dublin Bay so we dragged everyone else there. The line was so long that it was going to be train time by the time we could get served so all we left with was this picture.

    Remember last year we walked and drove in a down pour all day? No? Ok, well we did, and one of the yarn stores last year we tried to go to was Knit Knot Studio owned by Elizabeth Prusiewicz. She had a great selection of yarn lines not found elsewhere. And this bunny head. Turns out that her son Bartek is an artist and was one of the illustrators on the movie Coraline.

    All this yarn shopping was making me, I mean, all of us thirsty so we continued down 11th to the Deschutes Brewery & Public House where we enjoyed a fine lunch and a few of us sampled the porters and the Belgians served of course in snifters. Of course.
    .

    What’s just south of the Deschutes Brewery? Knit Purl. And since I’ve shown you lots of pics from there and from the Button Emporium, I took none. We had about an hour left before we had to be back at the train so we killed it at Powell’s City of Books. I am so glad I don’t live close to Powell’s. I’d be spending all my leisure time there.

    We gave ourselves 15 minutes for the 15 minute walk back to the train station and as we entered they were calling our train and for groups to come to the front of the line. We couldn’t have timed it better. We all had a fantastic day. We really enjoyed our time with Heide, it’s always so fun to hang with her. And enjoyed probably our last visit with Lisa and Kurt before they move to Virginia in a couple weeks. Thanks Heide, Lisa and Kurt for spending the day with us!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 06:33:50

    Those sunrise pictures are stunning! Looks like you had a great time. 🙂

    Reply

  2. kmkat
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 09:50:34

    Gorgeous photos. The artist son worked on Coraline? Awesome.

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 17:21:41

    Love the pictures! Thank you again for lunch and for inviting me to join in with you all during the fun adventure. It were loverly.

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Dec 11, 2009 @ 04:55:56

    Sounds like a really fun time – I want to go! Beautiful pictures – thank you for sharing them!

    I love the cowl – your handspun is gorgeous!

    Reply

  5. kathleen
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 11:36:36

    Oooo, i love the cowl! Lovely colors! Great pictures, too. But the greatest thing in your post is the shot of the beer. I like the idea of beer in a snifter! It looks good enough to drink…oh wait, you didn’t save that one for me? Rats…maybe next time…

    Reply

  6. Miss T
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 06:52:48

    I just love Portland. And love the colors in your cowl, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

