Big wheels keep on turning


If you’ve been reading KitKatKnit a long time you’ve seen this picture of my great great grandmother Ingeborg at her Norwegian spinning wheel. She took delivery of it in 1890. It was eventually passed on to her daughter Olene, to my Dad and to me. I spin on it when ever I’m visiting my parent’s in the Denver area. They drove out this past week for a visit and delivered it to me.

My Dad remembers Mor Mor Ingeborg buying fleece, cleaning it, carding it into rolags and spinning the yarn. I have two sets of her cards and a total of three bobbins. She’d knit socks, mittens, scarves and sweaters for the family when they lived in Phelps MN. I wonder if anything she knit still exists? My Dad also remembers Ingeborg reading to him from newspapers she received from Oslo, Norway. She would translate the cartoons and other stories but somehow the humor didn’t make much sense in English. Norwegian was spoken at home and at the one room 1st-8th grade school in Phelps where my Dad went, the classes were taught in Norwegian and Swedish with English being the third language.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 14:51:08

    That is really, really cool!

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 16:27:17

    What a wonderful photograph, and to have the wheel is fantastic! I can only imagine how excited you must be.

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 18:24:23

    That is the coolest picture ever! The history of the wheel and story of your grandma are priceless. Can you post a picture of you spinning on the same wheel for us? Also, do you know how to cuss in Norwegian? Just asking because for some reason that’s pretty much all of the Finnish I was taught (or remember).

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 20:01:56

    Congrats on your “new” wheel! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jeanne
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 04:49:07

    How amazing to have that very real connection to yout great great grandmother! I love it- it must be so nice to spin on it and know that your family has sat at the same place, doing the same thing for generations. Wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

