Travelogue 02141.the rest of the stuff

I know. Behind again on my blogging all over again. The vacation was too short and it’s Sunday already and we’ve been back to work.

So to catch you armchair travelers, Monday we went to the top of the Prudential Tower. This again was part of our Boston City Pass. You ride an elevator to the observation deck on the 50th floor skywalk. Don’t worry, it’s all enclosed!! (and you can press yourself right up against the windows) Knitting Hubby and I in hindsight thought that this would be a better first day tour so you can see all the sights in context while listening to a taped tour. It was pretty glary out so I need to PhotoShop most of the pictures but here is an example view. Oh look, an Apple Store!
photo(21)

After the Prudential and a cough light lunch we walked around downtown for a while. Again I must say what a great tourist town Boston is!! It is so walkable and if you can’t walk to it, the public transportation system can take you everywhere else in town that a tourist might want to go.
Grill

We spent the afternoon at the Harvard Museum of Natural History and the Peabody Museum. (Boston City Pass again). The Natural History museum is old but a very impressive collection. While we were there they were refitting the Pacific Islands exhibit, the lighting was on motion sensors so as you walked up to a case it lit. Nice but too dark to take pics without a flash. It was too dark to see much of campus once we were done.
ivory-carvings

There were whorls and bottom whorl spindles in one of the exhibits.
whorls

bottomwhorls

At sometime during the day I got an email from Dave Daniels talking about clam fests. Clam fests??? Seafood???? Lobster??? Where???? We waited till both Rachel and Graham were free for the evening and when they arrived at our hotel we did a last minute coin flip and decided on the Dolphin instead of the Helmand. We all hopped the red line to Harvard. It’s a quick walk down Mass Ave to Dolphin Seafood! I’d had lobster tail before but Graham and I had never had whole lobsters so that’s of course what we ordered. We giggled through the entire cracking and eating of our lobsters. Fun and very yummy! No wonder the restaurant is one of Dave’s favorites. (and still kicking ourselves that we didn’t have him there with us as he said he would have kicked butt if the service wasn’t top notch for us. We had great service.)
photo(20)

I still have tons of photos to load to Flickr on our sssllloooooww DSL so I’ll continue the Travelogue tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 06:19:08

    Mmmm…. lobster….

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 09:35:52

    OMG! OMG! OMG! I would have so loved to have been at The Dolphin to crack lobsters with you. I love that place. And are those broiled scallops?

    Reply

  3. Honey the Great Dane
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 14:28:36

    Hi Rufus & Ruby!

    I’m SO glad you decided to stop lurking and introduce yourselves!! I never know who is reading my blog unless they leave comments and it is so nice to meet friends from around the world. I especially like making kitty friends ‘coz I lost my kitty sister in Jan this year and we all miss her terribly. My humans will be getting another kitty but they want to wait until we have moved to Brisbane and settled there first before adding to the family!

    And it sounds like you might be adding to yours too?! A Dane maybe?! How exciting!

    My human loves Maine Coones – she always likes the “giants” in any species (as you can probably guess!) – the only thing that would put her off is the grooming as she is very lazy – she can barely remember to groom me once a month but thank goodness, my coat hardly needs any attention. That’s why she’s decided to always stick with short-haired breeds. But otherwise, she thinks you are the most beautiful of cats!

    Anyway, I do hope you won’t lurk anymore but join in the commenting as it is always lovely to read what people think about the things I’m doing! 🙂

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane
    ps. is there a photo of you on your blog somewhere? I’d love to see what you look like! Or maybe you could sign the Guestbook on my homepage with your photo?

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 17:40:50

    Sigh…now I want to go out for a lobster dinner…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

