Travelogue 02141.3

First of all. What the heck is this getting pitch black dark stuff at 4:37 pm here??? I have it on authority that by December 21 it gets dark by 3 in the afternoon. What the heck?? (ok maybe SuperGuppy exaggerated a little??) My local zip code got 5 more evening minutes today, Boston gets 1 more evening minutes on December 21. All relative I guess!

Knitting Hubby and I did go to the Old North Church for Sunday service. (one if by land, two if by sea) Since I’d goofed and forgot Nov 1 was standard time we were up an hour early. I blame it on not picking up a Saturday Boston Globe at the hotel front desk. After breakfast we wandered around North End until 8:30 (it even smells great on a weekend morning – garlicky, olive oily and bread baking-y) and got a tour of the church from one of the pastors. He said during tourist season – even up to 2 weeks ago they have people hanging from the rafters to get a seat. He estimated we’d have 20 at the most and that’s exactly how big the “crowd” was today.
photo(28)

Graham, Knitting Hubby and I spent this morning at the New England Aquarium. Very nice. Bet though their whale watch tour doesn’t include 88 orca. The NEA is very nice, based on a 4 story tall coral reef central tank with a ramp that spirals upward around it. Very nice viewing. Other exhibits were on the walls behind the tank. The ticket was part of our Boston City Pass. It paid for itself by so far going to 2 of the 7 museums or observatories. And our $15 7-day MBTA pass paid for itself by Friday.
photo(26)

All this walking makes you hungry (which means you eat too much and have to walk it off again) so we looked for the Tap (we’d had clam chowder there on Friday and again today). Wait a minute, do I hear someone moaning “that lunch place? Ew. No.”??? 😉

We walked to our afternoon destination, the Institute of Contemporary Artwhere again, Graham can get in free by flashing his Student ID. Most museums so far, except the aquarium wave in MIT students free. (I’m sure there are others??). How nice is that? Anyway, I love installation art so I had a happy brain all afternoon.

After that we were pretty worn out, but not enough to keep us from shopping for dinner at Whole Foods. This was my only second time ever at a Whole Foods and this one had a completely different personality than the Bellevue WA one. This one was the very kind I’m sure you’d find in other college towns!! We don’t have anything like Whole Foods or Trader Joes (I’ve never been in one). Sigh.

As you might have noticed we are really enjoying ourselves here in Boston. We’re sad that we only have 2 full days and one half day left to play tourist and hang with Graham and Rachel. Boston is a great town for pedestrian touring. I really don’t know what I’d take off my list if we had less time! And even if Graham didn’t live 6 blocks east and the MIT campus wasn’t on the backside of our hotel, this would still be a great base of operations. (and they cut you a deal for extended stay!!)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 06:50:05

    Three pm would have to be an exaggeration; 3:30, on the other hand… 😉

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 10:25:12

    You’ve really got me curious about this Kendall Square area. Looking at their site, I can’t believe I don’t know about this part of the city.

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 11:55:10

    Sounds like a great trip – I am hoping to get up to Boston after the new year, and will make sure I try some of the things you mentioned. Trade Joe’s is great – I was just there yesterday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

