Ahem. Notice anything??

I mean aside from the fact that there has been little content lately? And what there was, was lame filler? Oh, wait. I just did the math and I haven’t been gone that long and I have been “busy”.

Work, there has been work. The paycheck one. And talking to Graham on the phone. He’s had his first exams and is enjoying his research (theoretical nano-materiomics: properties of biological and de novo bioinspired materials or something close to that!). They saw snow flakes mixed in the rain this morning in East Cambridge. And planning a couple of trips. One to visit Graham for his birthday and the other is a trip to Wisconsin on Amtrak for Thanksgiving. So all you Minneapolis folks? I’ll be waving again from the train windows.

And knitting and spinning. Below was a fun spin from my Wasatch Watercolors stash. I bought a truck load of her stuff when I was in Bozeman MT in May. It’s a fun spin.
wasatch-watercolors

And this is the tussah merino blend Kim gave me for my birthday. 2 oz 260 yards.
brineshrimp

And I was busy recently attempting to make a little difference back in that guest/stash room (which somehow looks even worse now). I took a big bag and filled it with all the roving that I’d bought years ago, not my style now and put it up on Ravelry. It all sold that evening! So I put more up and more up and even more up, leaving myself with just the hand painted rovings that I really truly love at this point in time. Then I took a look at my spindle collection. And sold all those that I don’t go back to all the time. Sold. I took a look in my weaving equipment case but there wasn’t anything that I don’t use. And when I was all done, I had a nice pile of cash in my PayPal account. It’s not like it was burning a hole in my pocket….it wasn’t really…really!

So last Thursday a week ago I received a PM in my Ravelry mailbox from a woman in Bothell WA who had noticed how much I loved the Majacraft Suzie Pro Alpaca I’d test driven at OFFF. She has more wheels than time to spin on them all and offered to drive halfway rather than ship. I had that cash just laying there in my PayPal account…. mmmmmm, well you can fill in the blanks.
majacraft

The previous owner had left 4 oz of wool on the bobbins so I plyed them off. 260 yards.
leftovers

And my first trial run on the Alpaca was 4 oz, 120 yards of bulky (ish) Wasatch Watercolor in the Brine Shrimp colorway. Ready to finish!
readytofinish

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Oct 17, 2009 @ 08:20:19

    Hmm. Is it just my imagination, or is your blog theme different everytime I stop by?! 😉

    You’ve got me thinking about putting up some of that older yarn in my stash that is no longer to my taste…

    Reply

  2. Jeanne
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 17:01:33

    Congrats on the new wheel – and gorgeous yarn!

    Reply

  3. Cathy-Cate
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 21:19:59

    Wave to me too, in La Crosse!

    Lovely spinning, mmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

