37 degrees and flurries

A little fall is in the air so I’ve worn long pants instead of clam diggers (capri’s to the rest of you) this week to work. Daytime temps have been in high 60’s low 70’s. Night time nothing to worry about. So this morning as usual I packed no jacket and had the roof wide open on the Mini Cooper. For a while I even drove with my window open, watching the beautiful red sunrise and the sky turning from dawn to what was going to be blue skies.

So I was a little taken aback when I checked CNN.com and my local weather graphic said this–>
flurries
The little symbol for snow and the word flurries. I gave it a chuckle. After all CNN is a long way away. What do they know. Then I checked my local newspaper and glanced at their online temperature and conditions symbol. Same. 37 and snow flurries. (I have this graphic somewhere else and will load it tomorrow).

Fall gets me into the cooking and baking mood big time. I don’t can, freeze at all, and I don’t preserve in other ways much. Today’s treat? Gluten Free Beef Jerky. I do use my at least 25 year old dehydrator all year round. When I worked with a duck hunter for about 5 years, every October he’d bring me as many pounds of duck breast as I’d like, no limit, so I could make duck jerky. YUM. He retired two years ago and has somehow left me off his list. So then I went back to making beef jerky. A few years ago I purchased a jerky press. Like those old Mirro cookie presses except this is all plastic and you can throw it in the dishwasher when you’re done. My current batch jerky batch is made with 2 pounds extra lean ground beef and 1/2 cup San-J Gluten Free Teriyaki Marinade. It’s flavored with soy, vinegar, garlic powder, onion powder and other things I put in my usual jerky marinade, just no gluten!!! Just started drying it 30 minutes ago and it should be done by morning. Gluten free so both Graham and Rachel can enjoy it. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adrienne
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 21:03:30

    Most major news outlets get their weather stats from the NWS, as do some of the local ones, it seems.

    Its supposed to freeze in Pendleton on Friday night. Pity, as there is at least a pound of tomatoes still green on my plant!

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 06:32:30

    Mmmm… gf jerky. Lucky them!!

    It’s 28F here right now. The high for tomorrow is supposed to be 39F with flurries. *whimper*

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 05:49:58

    We have gone down to the low 40’s at night, but no flurries yet – its too early!

    Reply

  4. stacy
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 22:28:30

    Duck jerky? ‘Scuse me while I wipe the drool off my keyboard…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

