Off to OFFF and back again

Some how yet another week flew by. October is almost here but you wouldn’t know it by the weather. We had plenty of days in the 90’s again last week, Not a happy camper.

Jessica and I went to OFFF yesterday. The Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival in Canby OR. My first trip to it, Jessica’s third. WOW. So very nice, lots of vendors and we saw people and vendors we knew. Hi Velma!! Washington state really doesn’t have many fiber festivals. Madrona in February and it’s traveling 3 passes each way in winter so its a no-go. Stich and Pitch with the Mariners during baseball season and that’s about it! I went to the inaugural one 2-3 years ago and it was boring. No camaraderie between the knitters, hardly any vendors. Hope that has improved.

We left at 0-dark:15 from Jessica’s house and pulled into the parking lot at the fairgrounds 4 hours later. And we were going the speed limit. Don’t know how we did that! And that included 2 McD’s stops for drinks on the way.

I wasn’t in the first vendor building more than 5 minutes before I decided I’ll be selling my current carder and purchasing a new one in the future. All of a sudden this year there are a lot of cool ones that have come out. Mind you my current one does a wonderful job but every once in a while I want to treat myself to a new toy. Same with spinning wheels. You know I’ve had ba-zillions of wheels, and as soon as one doesn’t make me smile it goes out the door. I always keep my Lendrum DT because it makes me smile 100% of the time. Now if I can only talk Knitting Hubby into letting me sell his Schatch Matchless I’d like to buy a Majacraft Suzie Pro Alpaca. I test spun one on Saturday and fell in love. It spun like a dream so smooth and quiet.
photo(12)

We took quite a while before we found Superior Fibers. We’d bought from them at Black Sheep Gathering. Jessica and I picked out our batts and Kim picked out her’s over the phone. Hope she likes it!

OFFF unlike Black Sheep Gathering has a nice selection of food vendors. We supported the local FFA.

The color of these mohair locks is pretty spot on. This vendor had dyed all their mohair in wild wild colors.
photo(13)

By now you’ve probably noticed that the pictures are from my cell phone. I packed light when walking around. Money in one pocket, phone in the other and that was it. So I missed taking pictures of the very cool Irish Wolfhounds walking around. They were having a play day at another field at the fairgrounds. Just in case you’re not sure what they look like, here is a photo from puppydogweb.com. They are on my top 5 list of “if I ever got a dog”.
irishwolfhound

By 3:30 we were worn out. Probably from knowing we had the same drive home. I suggested the 6th Street Bistro in Hood River OR for dinner about 1hr 45 minutes away. We both had great dinners. Jessica had the red curry dish, I had pad thai.
6thst_8056_2
photo(11)

I was pretty much toast by the time I got home at 10.

Here’s some of the spinning I’ve been doing. The roving is by Wasatch Watercolors and is so much fun to spin it almost makes me giggle. Shown here are bobbin one and bobbin two.
photo(14)

photo(10)

I sent a box of mail, household treats for Graham and Rachel and a toy for Teddy. A well researched toy or at least I thought. I know he can’t do stuffed animal dog toys because he eviscerates them as soon as he gets them. So I got him a toy that I thought was a little sturdier. Graham was home from the post office with it late afternoon and by morning it was in pieces. Still playable so far. Teddy looks so much happier in the recent pictures!! I think he’s settled into his life in Cambridge.
photo(15)

Time for me to finish watching Iron Chef America so I’ll sign off. Ruby sends kitty kisses to everyone!
photo(16)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 07:43:19

    Sounds like it was a fun day! Mmm… pad thai… Love that shot of Ruby!

    Reply

  2. stacy
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 10:38:50

    Thanks for the kisses, Ruby! Oregon seems to have so many wonderful, crafty festivals.

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 17:28:07

    Sounds like a great time – love the fiber!

    I saw an Irish Wolfhound at the vets the last time I went – it was HUGE! I can’t imagine having one…but it was a beautiful dog.

    Reply

  4. Adrienne
    Sep 29, 2009 @ 14:00:03

    I think we test drove the same Suzie Alpaca and came to the same conclusion! I have a Fricke and the difference between the two is like driving and older Ford vs a new Mercedes. I was smitten, for sure.

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 18:51:47

    So do you like the Suzie Pro/Alpaca more than the Matchless?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

