Monster!

The star of stage and screen – Praying Mantis!! From the movie “The Deadly Mantis“. Well maybe not that big but this is the largest praying mantis I can remember seeing. I estimate about 5 inches long. And guess where I got him? My local grocers. I was the thrid person in the checkout lane and the butcher lady came by asking if any one wanted him, everyone cringed except me. I was very happy to bring him home to our garden! So she but him in one of those cold pac bags for ice cream. All the way home he tried to escape.
photo(4)

Proof, kind of, that I have been doing fiber related things. Here is my color sampler, done on my Good Wood Pocket Loom to see how the weft works with the warp I chose. I like it and after finishing the fabric the weft will bloom over the warp a bit more. (ok, not quite there yet!)
photo(5)

We’ve still been having temps in the over 100F range. Not my favorite by about 50 degrees. Late this afternoon though dark clouds started rolling in. It dropped the temperature to 97. Funny how good that felt. Almost 10 pm here and still 95 out. Don’t let those clouds fool you. No rain. We won’t see ran till mid-September if we’re lucky. We live in an area called shrub steppe and in an average year only get 5-6″ of precipitation annually. Not a desert, Shrub-steppe is a type of low rainfall natural grassland. That’s your natural history lesson for the day kids.
photo(6)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 11:13:07

    A pocket loom? Cool! Love the warp & weft combination. Those clouds look ominous… deceptively so if they don’t bring rain. I hope you escape some of the lightening and thunder storms over on the east side.

    p.s. it’s cooled off over here and there’s lots of shopping and fun stuff to do with Sock Summit… just sayin’

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 13:34:22

    Good grief. That’s hot!! I’m happy in our (strangely) low-humidity upper-70s weather… Although it looks like we’ll hit low 90s this weekend, which will be quite a shock to our systems (even though those are normal summer temps here!).

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 07:30:44

    That is one big bug.

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Aug 09, 2009 @ 17:10:51

    I don’t like the heat either – tomorrow is supposed to be hot here, but then its going to get back into the 80’s which is fine with me! Beautiful weaving (as always!)

    Reply

  5. Kathleen
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 09:41:29

    That’s a lovely color combination on your little loom. Amazing cloud formations, too. But no rain? It sure looks like a storm coming!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

