Blast off!

Thursday night I started thinking, what if my new to me Mighty Wolf with High Castle Tray was not going to fit in the back of my tiny Nissan Frontier Crew Cab pick up truck’s short bed. Real short bed, the ones that were being made 10 years ago. Plus I have a bed cover. And big wheel thingies that take up lots of room back there too. I got a call Thursday night from Denise, on the road to her daughters place, and meeting me in Oregon Friday. I told her my worry. She said no problem, it fit in her Jeep Cherokee with room to spare. And you all gave me measurements and reassurances.

When I met Denise and her husband, the Mighty Wolf fit in the back of their Jeep with plenty of room. They took it out, unwrapped it and I gasped! I didn’t know that on certain models the High Castle Tray is built in to the body of the loom!! Just like Nickolena said. My mouth went dry. (ok that was easy cause it was about 100 out) OMG It’s not going to fit, my truck bed is smaller than the back of their Jeep! Not to worry, and the three of us slide it in. Tight fit but it fit!!! We hugged, said our goodbyes and I smiled all they way home. Here’s what the loom was delivered in. Tight fit but everything came out ok.
cherokee

Here’s how it fit in the back of the truck, after I peeled of a bunch of cushioning. Looks messy, but I had just pulled a bunch of fleece blankets out from under places that I’d used them as protection.
loom-truck

The serial number dates this Mighty Wolf to sometime in August in 1986. I’ll make it’s birthday August 13. That date is the anniversary of my first day of work when I moved back to Washington state in 1979. I think I am the third owner. I’m not sure if Denise upgraded everything, the previous owner, or if between 1982 and 1986 Schacht made a lot of cosmetic and engineering changes. It is beautiful! Take a look at the wood grain–> every piece of the Mighty Wolf shimmers!
grain

Graham’s home for the weekend. He helped my re-install the stroller on the loom legs and we rolled it into the living room studio.
loominroom

I’ve since inserted a reed into the beater. No weaving yet. My first project is going to be some pillow tops. And that won’t get done until I finish plying the yarn.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 02:40:01

    Congratulations! What a beauty. It looks great in your studio~

    Reply

  2. Jeanne
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 04:02:15

    Congrats – its beautiful – enjoy!

    Reply

  3. Rae
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 06:56:50

    Congrats! I hope you enjoy your Mighty Wolf!

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 22:26:41

    That is positively beautiful! Congratulations on your new toy.

    Reply

  5. Chris
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 06:34:31

    Congrats on the new baby! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

