Happy 4th of July!!

I be you thought I was finally going to catch up with about 3 weeks of blogging. Well, no. What I did want to tell you is the coolest thing just happened! Those of you that have read kitkatknit for a long time know that Mrs. Robin comes back every year and nests hidden either under the grapes or under the eaves of our back porch. This year early in the season I saw her checking things out but she never did build a nest on the porch. I did see her and Mr. Robin on and off all spring. I found her nest up in one our maple trees a week or so ago.

So the coolest thing that just happened? I was checking email in the kitchen and I could hear a bird tapping on the window above the sink. Not flying into it getting hurt but again and again flying up to it and banging with its wings. So I opened up the sliding back door to see what was going on. It was Mrs Robin!! She looked at me and flew up into the grapes. And what did she leave behind for me to see? A fledgling! He was perched on the potting bench. We said our hello’s and then Mrs Robin called for him and the both flew off.

She trusts us and knows we aren’t predators. I am sure she wanted us to see her baby.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 14:30:25

    Oh, that was very sweet of Mrs. Robin, showing off her baby!

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 23:02:47

    How cool! It’s like you’re a Human Godmother. Happy Fourth of July!

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 04:47:11

    Too funny – she knew you had to see her baby! Hope you are having a great weekend!

    Reply

  4. Miss T
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 13:55:43

    How very cool!

    (And I’m not caught up with weeks of blog *reading* either.)

    Reply

  5. pdxknitterati
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 17:33:00

    So sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

