S’mores

Tools. Don’t we all have our favorite tools? The ones that fit in your hand and work like they were designed to (after some practice of course). Today’s tool tale? Spindles. I’ve been spinning wheel spinning on and off for almost 20 years. Spindling? Maybe 3. And almost never. Why? Because I am so spazzy at it. Spindle flying across the room, “drop spindling”

I’ve tried large, I’ve tried small, I’ve tried weighted ring. Nothing. Well at least nothing that I felt comfortable and gave what I considered a good product. So last month I was drooling over some Goldings and realized that the small ones were only $38. Hey come back, don’t you all leave to order, you have the rest of my blog to read!!! I love purpleheart wood and loved the Tsunami pattern so I pushed the go button. It came in mere days. And right out of the box — SUCCESS. So what is different about the Golding Tsunami? Very light weight, .75 oz. Brass outer weighted ring. Impeccable engineering. Ok not to mention that it is pretty…

tsunami

sunami

So what’s s’mores all about? Knitting Hubby and I never win anything. Well I guess I on occasion win a yarn contest. Yesterday when I made my daily stop at the local market I noticed there was a drawing for a bag of groceries. I put in one entrant for KH and one for myself. Well guess who won? KH!!!!! The bag contained 2 big Hershey’s bars, a bag of marshmallows, a box of graham crackers, a big bag of kettle chips, a plastic container of cowboy cookies and a 2 liter bottle of Pepsi. All in a reusable grocery bag!

yokesbag

smores

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    May 05, 2009 @ 21:23:40

    Your new spindle is gorgeous! The fact that it works well for you is icing on the cake.

    Reply

  2. Hazel
    May 06, 2009 @ 04:52:33

    This must be a “winning” week for the family…I won a bobbin “Sidewinder” in a CT Publishing drawing…ain’t it fun to win? hls

    Reply

  3. Chris
    May 06, 2009 @ 06:25:31

    Congrats on your grocery win! 🙂

    Reply

  4. RAE
    May 06, 2009 @ 10:23:24

    So when do we get to come over for SMORES?

    Reply

  5. heideho
    May 06, 2009 @ 15:22:16

    Congratulations! I have the same spindle and I love(d) it. That is until I really did drop it and cracked the wood and bent the brass ring. Now it doesn’t spin the same way. Hope all is well. How is KH’s shoulder?

    Reply

  6. Dave Daniels
    May 07, 2009 @ 18:16:33

    I absolutely adore my Golding Tsunami. I have a heavier one, and it just spins and spins. One thing I learned is that the whorl can be moved up and down the shaft to fit how you spin.

    Reply

  7. Roxie
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:03:12

    What a splendid spindle! May you draw many miles of yarn upon it. And congrats on the grocery win. Awesome bag!!

    Reply

  8. Jeanne
    May 08, 2009 @ 10:42:37

    Love the new spindle – I have one and I can’t do anything with it – maybe I should try a Golding!

    Congrats on the win – smores!

    Reply

  9. beth
    May 22, 2009 @ 13:00:25

    I am with you. Once I got my golding spindle it was all over with. They are the BEST!!!! I want another!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

