Not us

I fulled my handspun hand woven stole last night. All I need to do is trim up the fringe and wait for winter.
thorpe1

thorpe2

I’ve been feeling bad that I only have enough interesting (ha ha) stuff to post once a week or so. So while I was fighting off the vultures at dinner (R&R), I was thinking of something to use as photo fodder. So here we go… Have you ever gone out and looked for photos of yourself and found that you weren’t there but other people’s faces were associated with your name? I kept my maiden name. My last name is pretty rare, Knitting Hubby’s last name is even rarer. So here are photos of not us!!

These faces are not mine.
not-me-1

not-me-2

This woman is even in the same state!
not-me-3

This is not my brother, though his actual picture is out there a zillion times. The people that are not him do things like real estate, fishing and producing music.
not-steve-1

He doens’t live in the Nederlands.
not-steve-2

And my brother is not in the top 10% of the special ed class at a Canadian 9th grade class!
not-in-special-ed1

And this picture is defiantly NOT my brother and I!!!
not-either-of-us

This is not knitting hubby. Well I actually seached for images with his name (not knitting hubby) and found out the other person with his name is an artist in Minnesota.
not-knitting-hubby1

My Dad? Nope not him… Though I do have a picture of him (somewhere in the house) when he was 18 and looked like a very young Paul Newman.
not-dad-1

Dad is also not a famous fish photographer.
not-dad

Graham doesn’t share his name with any other faces when you search for his name. Though there are a lot of pictures out there of him that don’t have his name associated.

Mom? Nope, no pictures… How about you? Does your name come up with another face???

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pdxknitterati
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 21:17:51

    That was very fun! My name comes up with a famous chef and a famous writer. A lot.

    Your stole is beautiful. But no more winter for a while, please!

    Reply

  2. Chris
    May 01, 2009 @ 05:21:29

    Hey, interesting’s definitely not a prerequisite for posting stuff. Trust me. 😉

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    May 01, 2009 @ 05:36:54

    Love the scarf!

    Too funny on the google search – I found my niece that was named after me!

    Reply

  4. Roxie
    May 01, 2009 @ 06:25:26

    There are fifteen women in the US with my current name. When I took my first husband’s name, I was the only woman in the US with that particular combination. No photos, though. Or maybe I just don’t know how to look.

    Reply

  5. jessalu
    May 01, 2009 @ 12:39:52

    Lovely scarf!

    Whenever I google myself all I get are hits for a soccer player over in England with my name. ;o)

    Reply

  6. heideho
    May 01, 2009 @ 18:21:52

    I’m the only one with my name… or with my maiden name. Whoo hoo! Your scarf is stunningly beautiful dahling. Happy May Day!

    Reply

  7. Hazel
    May 02, 2009 @ 04:03:13

    My search came up with the picture of me and Graham holding the quilt he made when you were here in 2007. It’s under Fons & Porter: Sew & Tell May/June 2007. It’s realy us. hls

    Reply

  8. Miss T
    May 04, 2009 @ 13:54:53

    That looks like a nice, warm shawl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

