Icanhasgrainandfeed?

I took my handspun stole off the Baby Wolf tonight. Not including fringe it came out 21 x 88″. I’d tried for 21..5 x 92 but I ran out of one of the warp yarns. We’ve moved furniture around and there’s no real room in the family room any more for me to just roll the loom in and out. So the Baby Wolf is now in the living room and it took me longer to visit the loom. Nice lighting though.

This past weekend was the Northwest Alpaca Showcase. Kim, Nancy, Penny, Jessica, Knitting Hubby and I met there to demo spin and wander through the alpaca pens. Kim and I were both disappointed with the number of vendor booths this year. Has the economy hit the alpaca fiber arts? I did come away with 4 oz of hand dyed alpaca roving. Very nice and puffy, I can’t wait to try spinning it.

I had a lot of fun taking pics of the alpacas. They are so soft and so full of personality. When I down loaded them the first thing I thought of was each photo needed a caption a’la Icanhascheezeburger. Have fun!
showcase
alpaca-1
alpaca-2
alpaca-3
alpaca-4
alpaca-5
alpaca-6
alpaca-7
alpaca-8
alpaca-9
alpaca-10
alpaca-11

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 06:13:08

    What! No shawl pictures? Hmmph. Alpacas, llamas and duck billed platypusses (or it that platypi?) all look like they were made with left-over parts. Perhaps it’s this awkward strangeness that attracts me to these animals. The pictures are gorgeous.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 09:30:55

    Hmm – I’m usually good at captioning, but nothing’s coming to me.

    Reply

  3. jessalu
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 11:16:18

    What cuteness!

    Reply

  4. Hazel
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 15:08:35

    Each alpaca picture made me laugh…their personality comes thru even in a photo…so cute. hls

    Reply

  5. Jeanne
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 17:29:40

    Alpacas are so cute – everytime I see one I want one!

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 19:15:57

    Dontcha just wanna scrunch up those cutie pie faces! I just love them. I am lucky in that a friend just bought a herd, so I get to see them at home, where they are quite so anxious. And I get dibs on the fleeces!

    Reply

  7. Roxie
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 06:09:55

    There’s (1)the group photo, then (2)America’s next top model, (3)”I didn’t know Alpacas COULD be allergic to peanuts!” ,(4) “Yeah, I’m from Brooklyn. You gotta problem wi’dat?” (5) What do you call a legless llama? It’ doesn’t matter what you call him. He won’t come. (6)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

