We are all a twitter

I’ve been on Twitter pretty much since its inception but aside from following a few knitters, a few friends, my brother and Graham I don’t check in much. Why? Because I am darn sick of people wanting to be my friend only so they can sell me something. Those people get blocked as fast as I can push the button. If I find you, it’s different. Anyway I read my brother’s Twitter so I can see what he is up to and what beer he and his wife are enjoying where. I check on friends because we don’t get to see each other as often as we could. This week though has been different. We’ve been checking Twitter every hour.

Why?

Because Graham is on his way home from his tour of MIT and sending tweets as often as he can!! Graham was in Ann Arbor MI two weeks ago, Austin TX last week and Boston this week. The past three days he spent visiting labs, buildings, luncheon, dinners, drinking beer, touring campus and interviewing with faculty for research positions. One of the interviews came about by Graham walking into a lab that looked interesting and talking to the researcher who interviewed him for a research position the next day!

I knew it was spring today because I saw a young woman wearing a light jacket with shorts and cowboy boots. Sorry I didn’t have a camera on me.

Once upon a time (like about 1982) when I used to jog and run, I decided to run the local 10K St Patrick’s Day race instead of the 5K. As I was lopping my way back to the finish line I noticed I was being followed by a pickup truck following me picking up the route cones. Followed me all the way back to the check in tables where I found I had finished last, but finished. So today, Knitting Hubby and I were walking the same route when we noticed a car and a pickup truck picking up the route signs from the local MS walk. A woman hopped out of her car and asked us if we were OK, if we needed a ride back to the MS walk finish line and reminded us to have a hot dog when we got there. We had to explain that we were just out for a walk and not part of the MS event. After she passed we got thinking, did we look that old and lame?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 08:01:09

    Talk about a flashback walk! Very cool about Graham.

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 20:08:40

    I hope that Graham gets an awesome position. I’d have to be the one driving the truck or passing out hotdogs. You should have taken her up on the offer… and no, you don’t look “old and lame”.

    Reply

  3. Hazel
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 04:08:32

    I’m so excited for Graham! And no you don’t look old and lame…I first suspected I might when they don’t even ask if you’re a senior citizen, they just automatically give you the discount. hls

    Reply

  4. Roxie
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 06:37:30

    Yay Graham!

    It’s kind of cool to be able to say you were the last person to finish the race. It speaks so highly of your perseverence! Bravo to you.

    Reply

  5. Kathleen
    Apr 11, 2009 @ 14:39:39

    I never understood the Twitter thing. Is it just a lot of random comments from people? I tried, but couldn’t follow it. Yeesh…am I THAT old and lame?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

