Lewis and Clark slept here

You have to look hard at the trees on our local Bateman Island to see that they are budding. (Most of the trees in our neighborhood have budded and my tulip leaves are up – no flowers though) In 1805 Lewis and Clark camped on Bateman Island. It is the farthest north on the Columbia River that the party traveled.
bateman-spring

You probably think I really don’t have socks and a sweater going at the same time since I’ve never shown you photographic evidence! The socks are now 50% done, if you don’t count the fact that I have now taken off the old cuff and am reknitting it with some hand dyed. Not just any hand dyed mind you, but a left over bobbin’s worth from this project. I’ve only been knitting the socks at Friday Night Knit Night and doctor appointments so they are taking a little long. The sweater just has the second sleeve and the neck binding to go. Just an evening’s worth of knitting.
little-thorn-sock-one
hj-sweater

I plyed my recent BFL singles that I’d bought a couple of years ago. I can’t wait to knit socks from it. No picture, I forgot to take pics while it was still light out. I finished warping the Baby Wolf yesterday afternoon and have about 14 inches woven. As rustic as the fabric looks and feels I know after it’s wet finished it will be yummy soft and warm.
mixed-warp-one

This weekend was our annual local quilt show. Knitting Hubby felt well enough to go out for the day, it did tire him out though. Doors opened at 10 am, KH and I met Kim, Jessica, Nancy in the foyer, Kelly met us there later after taking her kidlings to an Easter Egg Hunt. I usually take a load of pictures, some to show you here, most to send to MIL Hazel and SIL Linda on DVD along with the show program. I don’t necessarily take photos of the best, the worst or quilts that I like, I do take pictures of elements, details or color work that I like. So here are a few from the morning. I really did like this one with the leaves. And guess who I took the second quilt picture for??
quiit-show
cm-quilt

We walked through about 1/3 of the show, then hit the vendors for a while. By noon we were starving and did our annual quilt show lunch out a local chain restaurant. We had a variety of beverages – ice tea, wine beer, sodas, etc. Jessica and Kim both had pizzas that looked fantastic.
fat-tire

Too full for desert, we went back to finish the quilt show. I’m not a big fan of Kaffe Fasset but this quilt using his fabrics was one of my favorites. (my favorite quilter is Denyse Schmidt, not her newer stuff though. I like her work from about 8-10 years ago)
kaffe

I’ll leave you with this one.
another-quilt

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 03:18:51

    Beautiful quilts, the cats are so cute.
    Yay for the socks. I’d forgotten all about them. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hazel
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 04:26:09

    Such eye candy! Glad to hear KH is better…such a slow process, this healing. hls

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 08:50:48

    Sounds like a marvelous outing. Give KH a pat on his good shoulder and send him heeling thoughts from me… if that doesn’t speed up his recovery then you can always threaten him with another ride with me in the Van of Doom.

    Is the kitty quilt picture for Chris?

    Love the sweater.

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 17:07:01

    Those are amazing quilts – and it sounds like a fun time!

    Great socks – gorgeous colors!

    Reply

  5. Chris
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 17:49:24

    I love that quilt picture!!! Thank you! 😀

    Heh, I read that as Batman Island at first…

    Reply

  6. Roxie
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 06:09:08

    Ooooh – pretty! The Kaffe Fasset quilt could so easily be a mitered square blanket. Self-striping sock yarn leftovers maybe. The kitty quilt is kool! And hooray for budding trees! Strength to KH and speedy healing.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Well, crap

Leave a Reply

