Celebrities in Slings

Two celebrities joined the ranks of arms in slings this week. Knitting Hubby of course started the fashion trend.

Spain Cycling Armstrong falls
Then Lance Armstrong fell during a race this weekend and broke his collarbone.

deer
And rounding out the sling fest, Matt Lauer dislocated his shoulder while biking when he had a run in with a deer.

Knitting Hubby is doing much better though his stitches weren’t ready to come out last Friday. Hopefully this coming Thursday! It will still be a while before he can hold knitting needles, though of course if he changed over from English to Continental he could probably start right away. The timing of his shoulder surgery couldn’t have been better. He and Rufus have enjoyed many an hour watching the NCAA basketball playoffs. Oh the other good news? They didn’t even get close to his tattoo.

I haven’t touched my sock project in 10 days and here I am in the quickly knitted foot section. I should bang it out during American Idol this week. I just have sleeve two and collar to knit on a sweater, which should go quick too.

great-digs
I washed and fluffed Mom’s woven tweed scarf this weekend and she wore it while getting to meet all the Alpaca’s at Gentle Treasure Alpaca farm in Benton City. I’d taken my parents on a driving tour of the open to the public parts of the Hanford site and on the way back I decided to try seeing if Ray and Diane would give us a tour. No problem!! We probably spent close to an hour there. The dogs loved Mom and all three pushed each other out of the way so they could be closer to Mom. Each Great Pyrenees weighs about the same as Mom does so she was a littler nervous about it. Then a number of the Alpaca wanted to give her kisses. You can imagine she wasn’t too thrilled about that. She didn’t realize an Alpaca kiss is just a tiny little warm nose air puff. Here’s a picture of Barack Ollama.
barack-o-llama

It is getting springier here. Meaning more wind and silly little rain showers. We had a single clap of lightening/thunder over the weekend. It has been pretty nice walking weather. Not much to take snapshots of yet though so you get rocks.
river-rocks

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 05:53:30

    I love that last picture! Good news about KH’s tattoo. And I hadn’t heard that about Lance. Of course, I think his comeback plans are sort of insane – best to retire at the top instead of coming back and not being there anymore…

    Reply

  2. Roxie
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 06:22:43

    I hadn’t heard about Matt. Poor lad! Poor Knitting Husband, too! But they managed to save the tattoo – yay!

    I loved the place where you said that your mom got to meet the alpacas, and you showed her surrounded by big white dogs.

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 19:09:35

    I’m glad that KH is recuperating from his shoulder surgery with such wonderful kitty company. Those darned celebrities… jumping on the band wagon. Oh well, imitation is the highest form of flattery. Barrack Ollama! Snort, giggle.

    Reply

  4. Miss T
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 06:45:38

    Very nice fluffy dogs and fluffy alpacas.

    Reply

  5. Chrissy
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:13:18

    I love Barack Ollama!

    Reply

  6. Cathy-Cate
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 16:36:56

    Hope he shows those celebrities just how to heal!!

    (I know both knitting styles, usually knit continental by preference, but had a wonky thumb last year and had to knit English for a month. It’s handy being bi-knit-ual.)

    I will be thinking of you tomorrow! I board the Empire Builder in La Crosse and take it to Seattle! I even got a sleeper car! Yay me!!!

    Reply

  7. Sarah Richards
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 02:03:50

    Barack Ollama, LOL! Made me laugh. Interesting post you have here. Anyway, I hope Lance get better soon cos he has some asses to kick come Tour season.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

