Not much, you?

Not much going on around here. At least in the cat world. Napping, eating, sleeping, bird watching. Oh wait, that is us too. Worked in the yard and garden last weekend and this. Knitting Hubby is going in for shoulder surgery this coming Friday so we are trying to get anything done now that he won’t be able to do while he is on the mend. (he’s been there done that so we know how long it takes and what he can and can’t do for how long)
not-much-how-about-you

The Vespa came out of the garage parking and is now on the covered back porch staging area. I start my commute season tomorrow, baring rain, ice or snow. Or really bad winds. Or if I have to haul home peat moss from the nursery.
vespa-rear.jpg

Spring is in the air. That is why we had rain, snow and hail last week.
columbia-point

Finished the Plymouth Tweed scarf for my Mom. Just need to twist the second end of fringe and wash it. It came out kind of short because I duh forgot to add for loom waste. Doh.
little-man
blue-tweed

I’ve spun 2 oz of my Ltd Edition Crayola BFL Roving I bought from Lyndseyjane at etsy almost two years ago. Don’t think she is selling any thing any more. Stash diving. crayola

More stash diving. I have a new stole on the warping board. I am planning a (finished size) 22 x 90″ w/o fringe. Warp is a pattern of 4 strands grey Romney (Zoe or Chloe from Thorpe WA – I’ll have to look up which one it is), 4 strands of Imperial Stock Ranch in a light grey. And 2 strands of polworth/alpaca/angora blend. Weft will be from a grey tweed cabled vest that Knitting Hubby knitted somewhere back in the last century and didn’t like so I frogged it for the yarn 2-3 years ago.

Graham got back to Seattle late last night from a trip to Ann Arbor MI. He was there (on their dime) to check out the University of Michigan’s Mechanical Engineering Department. He talked to a grad student who’s research is knitting shape memory alloy and using it as a muscle. Sounds like something I’d enjoy!! I remember playing with shape memory alloy when I worked at Ball Aerospace over 30 years ago.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 05:23:24

    Spring – not so much in the air here, with a high Wednesday maybe not above 10. 😦

    Poor KH!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 11:55:13

    OMGoodess! The moment I saw the picture of the boats I though “WOW! That looks like Columbia Point! Could this be a fellow Tri-Citian knitter?!” Hahaha! What a small world!

    The tweed scarf is beautiful. It looks like the most perfect thing for the weather we’ve been having. Seriously? HAIL!?!

    Your cats are so pretty and photogenic! My cat despises my camera. She makes sure to make a mean face for the camera. xD

    Anywho! Have a great Monday!!

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 17:33:02

    Love the cat picture – adorable! The scarf is beautiful – I love your weaving. I hope your husband’s sugery goes well, and that he heals quickly!

    Reply

  4. Miss T
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 09:59:58

    So, spring is real, somewhere? Sigh.

    Reply

  5. Hazel
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 05:54:50

    The scarf is beautiful. The cats seem to enjoy posing for your camera shots. I’m sure surgery will go well for KH and he will be on the mend soon…be patient and kind to yourself. hls

    Reply

  6. Roxie
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 07:02:46

    What gorgeous kitties! Give ’em snuggum huggies for me. Does the Harrisville tweed soften much whith finishing? I’ve fondled the skeins and not loved the feel. It sure makes a pretty scarf, though. And you have to show pictures of the yarn you are getting from that crayola roving.

    Vespa commutes? You’re a tougher woman than I am!

    Reply

  7. Karen
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 19:55:35

    AHA! So now I know why KH “bought us” matching recliners… he is looking at rehab-ability…
    Get the scooter out girl.there was a splash of wonderful sunshine… do what the portlanders and seattlers do, leave work when the sun comes out. Then go home and unfreeze enough to knit up a nose cozy!

    Reply

  8. Turtle
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 20:46:46

    you’ve been busy, love the vespa but that would be so cold right now!

    Reply

  9. heideho
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 15:35:55

    Rufus and Ruby are quite regal. I hope that the surgery goes well and that KH is back to normal quickly. Hope the weather on that side of the mountains cooperated for Vespa riding. Tomorrow we’re off to Bend, OR for the weekend. The girls and I will play while Brian attends a conference. The metal stuff sounds cool, but Michigan is a long ways away. Don’t they have a similar program in the Tri-Cities?

    Reply

  10. wildtomato
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 09:59:31

    R&R are tres chic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

