Road Trip

Road trip
And I called shotgun.

Penny over at PennKnits has been watching the local weaving scene with interest. (that would be mostly me, plus Jessica, Kim and Nancy) She’d spent the fall waffling over whether or not to get a spinning wheel and then realized that it creates MORE yarn and then she’d have to do something with it. Like knit more. Must have been reading Mr. Daniel’s lessons learned. So around the holidays her interests shifted to rigid heddle looms. Always the enablers, we sent her link after link to good deal, bad deals and hey it would hurt type deals on rigid heddle looms either within driving distance or reasonable mailing distance.

Over last week I got a couple text messages, emails and calls from her asking my opinion on a few RH looms. Thursday she talked to Jessica and then a while later called me, telling me she’d found a loom in Goldendale and would I take a look at the ad. Goldendale is about 1.5 hours from us. Population about 3500, hours from no where. I took one look and told her it wouldn’t hurt to go look since it was only a couple of hours away. So I armed Penny with a couple questions and an hour later a road trip was hatched for Friday. Friday was also the day that Penny saw her first rigid heddle loom (Betty Davenport’s actual loom at our local guild show – Betty is from here, I used to buy all my weaving supplies from her) and realized it was not what she wanted. In the rigid heddle loom’s defense, it was a Beka and those are about as stark naked as you can get.

artisat
Boys and girls, this is what 46″ of Leclerc Artisat looks like loaded into the back of a Ford Explorer. I would have taken a picture of Penny but she was still in that shell shocked stage at this point. “I bought a loom. And I have no idea what I am doing!” If she hadn’t of bought it, I would have. So it wouldn’t have gone to waste.

The seller asked if we’d been to the weaving studio downtown. Weaving Studio in Goldendale? We don’t even have one in the Tri-Cities. So armed with directions we found it on the main street. They aren’t quite open for business yet but one of the owners invited us in and toured us around. It’s located at 117 West Main Street, Suite B.
fiberartsstudio

We were greeted at the door by Rona. She’s a Black Russian Terrier. Rona was a total sweetie. I love big dogs and cats!! Somewhere under that black fur is a dog.
rona-1
rona-2

Janice, a fiber artist and quilter toured us through the studio. She runs Dakina Winds. You can see some of her work in the photo of the window (show above). There is also a woman specializing in dyeing fibers and a paper mache artist will be joining them. My favorite though? The artistry of the resident weaver – Beth Poirier. Oh my. She has three looms she works from. A jaw droppingly beautiful Norwood->
norwood
nother-norwood

A Toika and a Baby Wolf.
toika

Hanging from the walls were a series of beautiful tea towels Beth had done. And some hand dyed yarns.
towels
dyed-skeins

Janice then asked us if we’d been to the gallery? Gallery in Goldendale? Yes, on the next block. Some good stuff, some bad. But a gallery none the less! When we left Goldendale it was snowing again over the pass. Fun adventure, thanks for letting me ride shotgun Penny!!

Remember taxi girl from last week? A friend of Kelly’s that reads kitkatknit did a little Photoshop job on it. Good thing I wasn’t drinking anything when I opened the email. Is this a hoot or what! Thanks Renee!!!!
ruby_taxi

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 22:55:40

    Rona is a Bouvier (don’t know if I spelled that correctly). Our neighbor has two of these rather large pooches.

    The loom is really, really neat… even for those of us with no clue as to what a rigid heddle is. The road trip sounds like a blast.

    I’ve heard of the Cash Cab, but never the Cat Cab.

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 23:05:46

    Thanks Heideho. I saw the picture and went, I know that breed but I can’t remember what it is. Glad you knew the name, it would have driven me batty. Well, more batty.

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 05:12:40

    I can’t believe she got that loom for so cheap! You guys always find the best bargains.

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 07:24:21

    Congrats to Penny! That taxi picture is SO FUNNY!

    Reply

  5. Rae
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 08:22:09

    Thanks so much for coming with me! It was so much fun and you blogged it so well! I’m still reading up on how to warp!

    Reply

  6. Beth Poirier
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 08:42:01

    Thank you for the fabulous mention in your blog!!! The photos are great and I’m honored!!. The dog, by the way, is a Black Russian Terrier.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

