Little Yellow Taxi

We don’t have the heart to throw away Ruby’s current favorite toy. This box came home with me from Costco last week. I put it under the table until trash day and Ruby has adopted it as her little taxi cab. She’ll sit in it just watching kitchen goings on from this level for 30 minutes at a time. Does she think she’s hidden?
little-yellow-taxi1

I like to take my sandwich or whatever I am lunching on, down to the boat launch by my office. It’s the same spot we spin at in the summer. If the weather is nice I take a nice lunchtime walk from here. Today it was cold and damp out so I stayed in the truck to eat and read the latest Pieceworks magazine. Halfway through my ham and cheese sandwich, BAM BAM. It was so loud and so metallic sounding I thought someone had shot the truck. But the BAM BAM sound was the truck getting hit from overhead. I looked around sheepishly at the two other cars in the parking lot. Their occupants were happily eating their lunches like nothing was going on. Because, nothing was going on. When I finished my sandwich I walked around the truck to see what caused the sounds. It ended up being resourceful seagulls that had dug up freshwater clams the size and weight of golf balls, flying over the parking lot and dropping them to open them. The parking lot, except for the path that I’d chosen to drive in on, was littered with shells.
clam-1
clam-2

Always a little late to the table, I just started watching “Firefly”. Kelly has loaned me the series and I love it! Why didn’t anyone tell me about this before???
firefly

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Turtle
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 20:17:23

    our kitty was a stray and sadly is afraid of boxes…i hope this will change.

    lol, at the seagulls! the other night while waiting for the ferry i watched a seagull fighting with a dried up old starfish, poor thing.

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 21:25:29

    Seagulls are funny and resourceful creatures. I LOVE Firefly and have followed the rumors of the possible series offshoot with bated breath. Jane cracks me up. Anyway, the new series, “Brown Shirts” would be based on the battles that took place prior to the “Firefly” series.

    Reply

  3. pdxknitterati
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 21:36:20

    I saved a box for weeks, because Mookie adopted it as her new “special place” so I know what you mean! And I love your seagull story.

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 06:45:13

    I’m pretty sure I raved about Firefly when I watched it (and Serenity) the first time a year or so ago!!! 🙂 Heck, I even bought the soundtrack…

    Heh – makes it hard to recycle those boxes when a kitty adopts them…

    Reply

  5. Kathleen
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 10:36:46

    Better late than never, I always say, and it seems like I’m always the last one to do anything. That said, let it be known that I’ll probably not see Firefly until NEXT year.

    Reply

  6. Jeanne
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 18:31:24

    Ruby is so cute in the box – isn’t it funny when they pick strange places to hang out in? Love the seagull story – hopefully they didn’t dent your truck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

