T minus 35:50:52.1

At least at the start of writing this post. What’t the future going to hold?

There were beautiful blue winter skies for Knitting Hubby when he visited Santa Fe last week. One of the many museums he was able to go to was the Museum of International Folk Art. I didn’t even know the museum was there!
santa-fe

The exhibit was called Needles+Pins: Textiles & Tools. Hands on was encouraged with embroidery, adding to a group weaving or making pot holders. Photography is not encouraged so KH had to take the inside the museum pictures on the sly with his iPhone.
santa-fe-2

santa-fe-3

santa-fe-4

santa-fe-5

santa-fe-6

I’ve done pretty well in the fiber arts department here at home so far this year. Almost done spinning some of the roving I’d picked up in Portland when I brought home my Baby Wolf. I have just a few grams left to do before I ply it. Here’s a couple of pictures of the Elemental Affects/Imperial Stock Ranch scarf I finished last week. It has a nice drape to it but will probably give it an other washing to close it up a bit more and do a wet finish to bring out more halo. The color is more like the top one. This weed patch is about a block from my office.

mid-jan0031
mid-jan0041

Just on a whim since I am not a hat wearer, I decided to try knitting a calorimetry. It came out really cute, it I may say so. Except for when I am wearing it! I just might give it as a gift to someone…
mid-jan005

I started these socks on our train trip to Portland. They are beyond cushie!!
mid-jan009

And these? I’ve never put them in my Ravelry project list. They were my first pair of Knucks when the pattern came out in the summer of ’06 and are still my favorite pair. So you get to see them again.
mid-jan007

And everyone wish Karen knitting good vibes! She’s almost done with her first knitting project, a felted bag. Friday after work we met over at Sheep’s Clothing and she picked out some purple heather yarn and sock sized circular needles. So armed with all of our good vibes, some coaching, me trying to find the very easiest top down pattern I can find in Ravelry and a couple glasses of good wine, Karen is going to join the fold of the hand knit sock knitters!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 06:46:44

    Ah, Sante Fe… Gorgeous!

    I really had to tweak my Calorimetry to get it to not cover half my head and look weird!

    Your weaving turned out so well.

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 11:27:24

    Your scarf makes me want a loom even more……….. and more….. and more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

