Everyone needs a blankie

I think I have one more winter scarf on my plate and then the next thing I’m going to do is a Harrisville Designs Shetland blanket. Tabby weave. There go all the plans for twill studies in my immediate future. I was fine, minding my own business, not even thinking of anything but twill when I spied Syne Mitchell’s Healing Blanket. I was sold at “the most soft, lovely, cozy throw ever”. Since someone** at our house keeps the heater set at just above permafrost, a soft cozy throw would be just the ticket. I am planning on a 52” x 90” which finished will be about 45”x76” with the 15% HD Shetland shrink factor.

(** that would be me)

I actually bought the yarns for the winter scarf project when we were in Portland so it’s not a result of stash diving. Mostly greens with a wine thrown in. The warp will be four different colors of Elemental Affects randomly placed and the weft will be Imperial Stock Ranch Sock in spring sage.

Socking is coming along, just started into the heel flap. These are a fast knit on US2’s and are really squishy soft. With all the snow we’ve had lately I haven’t worn my wool socks much. I’ve been wearing hiking boots and they are not as well suited to hand knit socks as my clogs are. We got another 2-3” of snow last night. It’s supposed to warm up to the 40’s by mid-week. I actually like the snow cover. I’d rather see white than the usual drab winter landscape. We’d planned on going over to Seattle Friday and Saturday but kind of glad we didn’t since the main passes have been closed more often than they’ve been open. I-90 from milepost 34-106 (Northbend to Ellensburg) due to avalanche danger and ice. And now freezing rain on top of all that.

Graham got snow again last night in Seattle. His winter 09 quarter started today. Only two more quarters until graduation. WOW that went fast! Seems like only yesterday… He has a couple more grad school applications to send in and then hopefully he’ll start hearing back soon!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 08:53:58

    Why don’t socks work very well with your winter boots?

    Reply

  2. Turtle
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 14:09:25

    one of my clients got stuck trying to head back to school in ellensburg due to the closures. We got another 6 inches the other night but it is now pretty much gone! (daughters first day classes were cancelled yesterday)

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 17:13:06

    The blanket sounds so nice – can’t wait to see it! Keep warm!

    Reply

  4. Rae
    Jan 07, 2009 @ 21:54:46

    I agree with enjoying a blanket of white snow over our nasty winter brown. Hate the winds also!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

