Mushroom clouds, we gotz ’em

We get mushroom clouds so often here that one of the local high schools has it as their logo. OK this mushroom cloud is made by some cooling towers north of town. And the cool thing is that it creates its own snow on cold days.
shroom
I missed blogging for the new years so Happy New Year everyone!! I also for the like 9th time forgot to have Knitting Hubby hold the newest Hazel quilt up for me in the sunshine so I could take a picture of it. (and on the few days when it hasn’t been blizzarding, raining or bitter cold) As always, Hazel’s work is superb! This one has a travel theme. When ever we take a trip somewhere we get Hazel a set of fat quarters that represent the area we are visiting. Hazel made us a quilt from these fabrics!!!! It is so much fun to remember all the places we’ve been by looking at the quilt blocks. Thanks so very much again Hazel! A picture will follow maybe tomorrow….

With lots of time off during the holidays (boy is next week going to be a long one at 40 hours), KH and I have been knitting, weaving and spinning up a storm. I finished the handspun yarn sock I started on the train and am about ready to start the heel flap on the second one.
train-sock-one

KH recently cast on and finished two of his favorite reversible rib scarf.
chocolate-scarf

alpaca-one

I dug into the stash room again and wove this fall weight and fall colored scarf over new years. Don’t look too close, I “somehow” have a few booboo’s in this one but it passes the quick glance test. Washed up this morning and it is so soft and cuddly.
vine-maple-detail1

vine-maple-done

This time I carefully logged loom waste. And this time I tested out the various boat shuttles I have. So far my favorites are my two Glimakra #6’s, my Glimakra #14 (the one without the wheels) and one I have yet to identify. (the snub nosed one shown here as the closest boat shuttle) I have a few others that I tested but they didn’t slid as smooth over the warp I was using. I found that what I would usually wind over three stick shuttles, fit easily on to 5 4″ bobbins. I plan on purchasing some 6″ bobbins for the larger boats now that I know I like those particular ones. I also found I didn’t care for the paper quills as the warp would start to slide off the ends a bit no matter how careful I was to wind it.
bobbins

Our local spokes model has a statement for the press: “Rufus and I, as happy as we were to have the family home during the holidays, are glad there is only one more day that Mom and Dad are going to be home before going back to work. Rufus and I have spent two weeks entertaining them and we are just plain tuckered out. Time for some super power napping starting Monday at 0630 hours. Thank you.”
rubydubby

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss T
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 19:25:23

    Very funky cloud photo!

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 20:46:10

    Oh boy maybe I should look into that loom in Helena. I love the scarves. The more I think about it I am leaning more towards a loom than a wheel. Especially as in 6 months I’ll have my own room. What pattern is DH’s scarves? They are great and I got some guys I need to knit for.

    Reply

  3. Turtle
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 20:48:09

    weird on the clouds! the scarves look great! the woven one is just dreamy!

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 23:24:48

    A kitty’s work is never done! I didn’t know that about the clouds. Gorgeous scarfs all around and the sock is pretty darned good lookin’ too.

    Reply

  5. heideho
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 23:25:15

    P.S. If Penny’s going to have her own room then she needs a wheel and a loom.

    Reply

  6. Jeanne
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 06:18:42

    Love the socks and scarf – and the woven scarf is gorgeous!

    Reply

  7. Chris
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 07:34:06

    Hee hee – I think Chaos and May feel the same way, Rufus!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

