Haunted herring

mmm here it is December 23 and I have not wrapped a single present. Oh except for the ones that had to be shipped. Anyway I think that is a record for me. Tonight I am tired. As soon as I am done here I’ll be snuggling on the couch with which ever cat I can talk into joining me. Then I’m off work for two days, back on the 26, then off again until the 30th. I can feel some naps coming on!

I tromped through the snow today at one of our parks on the river to take pictures of my newest scarf fresh off the loom. All while planning my next weave.
blue-jewels-scarf

And yesterday I was surprised by my winnings from Chris’s latest contest at Stumbling Over Chaos. What fun stuff! Chris and crew sent me a new tape measure – this one will go with my loom, a Winter mix CD (half listened to so far), two skeins of some absolutely yummy baby alpaca 4 ply (mittens or scarf, decisions decisions!), a mini sock blocker and pattern, two books to read while home for the holidays and the highlight of all –> a grow my own Black Cat kit! It says it’s good luck and doesn’t leave black cat hair all over the place. Right, we sure wouldn’t want black cat hair competing for space with the orange and brown now would we??? Can you say JACKPOT?!?!?! Thanks again Chris and co-judge Jeanne! This photo looks fuzzy to me, sorry. Or maybe it’s just me and I do need that nap.
winnings

The haunted herring? Graham loves pickled herring so when he’s home he always buys a carton from the local deli and puts it in the fridge to munch on. This batch, no matter where I put it in refridge keeps jumping out at me. I’ve had to pick it up off the floor a half dozen times now. Haunted I tell you. Herring of Christmas past??

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 22:15:41

    Obviously it wants to be the Herring of Christmas Present and not Christmas Future. My family has pickled herring for the holidays too.

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 22:33:11

    Love the scarf hope you all have a merry christmas

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 05:50:31

    The scarf is beautiful. And I really like the depth of the purples. (Did you hand twist the fringe or use the twisty tool thingy?)

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 06:23:53

    I bet the cats have bespelled the herring in an attempt to get it. 😉

    Lovely scarf!

    You’re very welcome! Enjoy your goodies and your time off. (I was amused to realize that the first song was by The Loom…)

    Reply

  5. Turtle
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 07:53:25

    beautiful scarf!! lots of goodies, cool from chris!! lol, the herring is trying to tell you something..but what?? smile Have a great holiday!

    Reply

  6. Hazel Spindler
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 18:47:16

    Pickled herring? We had smoked salmon this evening…I wonder where that came from?? Hazel

    Reply

  7. Jeanne
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 05:39:46

    Gorgeous scarf! And what a great prize package…congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

