My favorite time of year (says Ruby)

Ruby here. You know what? I love winter. Well except for those snowy days when my Daddy (Knitting Hubby Momma calls him) picks me up from a perfectly good nap and throws me in a snow bank. News at 11.

Anyway, like Chaos and Mayhem, the nappin’ is great and the livin’ is easy as they say. My fur comes in handy because Momma won’t let anyone turn the heat up past about 34F in the house. Or at least it feels like it. Occassionally she’ll cover me with my special Rowan Chunky Tweed moss stitch blankie. But the best thing of course is the bird watching. I have a viewing stand right by the dining room window. Just past the snowbank that Daddy throws me in, is a big pine tree with two bird feeders and a suet cake. Sure it’s there in the other seasons but by early summer all the house wrens have been scared off by the mean old magpies.
birdwatching

This time of year? The best. I get to watch the junco’s, and quail and other little munchies…I mean birds. I could stay in that window all day long and watch. But some times the warm sun shine streams in between the branches of the tree and it’s nap time once again.
snow-day

The other good thing about this time of year is that Boy is home from school. He luckily got home last Friday on the last Greyhound that was able to leave from Seattle to where we live 210 miles east. He gives me lots of pets and loves. I have to bank them up for when he’s not here. He’s a great big brother to have even if he isn’t furry and walks on two legs.

Momma finished her second woven scarf in a record two days. I helped this time with the twisted fringe. A few too many times though I think cause Momma has put it up for now and says she’ll wash and dry it later.

OH OH – the Fedex Man just got here (at 9:25pm). And the tag says something about Wisconsin Cheese on it. I’m betting its something from Grandma Hazel. And I am sure it’s for me. Those Wisconsin cats are so lucky to live in the land of cheese.

Well time to wake up from my nap and go to bed. g’night!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hazel Spindler
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 05:55:26

    We Wisconsin “cats” (human) will in fact be lucky if we don’t freeze to death during this brutal cold. I’m sure the festivities tomorrow nite will warm us all up. Enjoy the cheese. Hazel

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 06:39:28

    Hi Ruby! Did you get any cheese? I’m glad the Boy made it out of Seattle on his bus and wasn’t left standing in the cold to be taken to a homeless shelter by the police like other unfortunately bus passengers in Seattle…

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 08:27:46

    Ruby, I’m glad that your brother made it home and cheese is on the menu. One of our most favorite pictures EVER is the one of you and Rufus talking to each other in the snow. It could be on a Christmas Card with just about anything written in for dialogue and be purrfect. Our mama didn’t make us a bird viewing perch… something about not being able to keep our two-legged sisters off of it. Keep warm.

    Your friends,
    Bonny & Tasha

    P.S. Tasha puked a big, slimy mess on the carpet again this morning… heh, heh, heh.

    Reply

  4. Kathleen
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 12:01:09

    Hi Ruby,

    I love watching birds. Magpies are one of my favorite bird to watch, although we don’t have them here in Peru. We have smallish black buzzards that the local people call “gallazos” (big roosters.) And we don’t have any snowbanks. and the worst is…we don’t have the Wisconsin Cheese Man, either…but we do have Christmas, so Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from Celeste and family down here in Peru.

    Reply

  5. Turtle
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 14:14:44

    lol, our kitty has been hanging inside more with the storms as well. but is a little bored, house cat toys are still kind of a new thing..but love sitting in the bog front window watching the squirrels and begging for treats. have had to start using the front door as with all the snow i can’t make it up to the upper deck to window surf on the french doors.

    glad your son made it on the last bus!!

    Reply

  6. earlebenezer greyhound betting
    Dec 25, 2008 @ 22:26:52

    Hi, nice blog. You explained in a understandable way. Thank you for sharing. Keep posting like this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

