It’s a hand knit day!!

This morning it was cold enough to wear hand knit socks, scarf and mittens. We woke up Sunday to about 3”of snow and 13 degrees out. Never got any warmer all day. Some yards had an inch of snow, some had 3 foot drifts. I’d planned on warping the Baby Wolf, that was until I got a suggestion from Rodger at Overabundance to try maybe dark brown to go with my purple/lavender handspun. The warp now on the board will be chained and I’ll be ordering hopefully some chocolate Imperial Ranch Stock yarn.

Today is cold too with wind chills down to 10 below. Snowing and 20 mph winds. I know, I know, this is nothing compared to what some of you get but cold for here. Seattle and Portland got snow too.

I never did mention what I bought on Saturday. Stash enhancement? No? Does it count if it is only going to be used as warp? I’m fuzzy on that ruling but pretty sure it doesn’t count. Just like handspun and roving doesn’t count. I mostly bought neutrals except for 4 different colors of Elemental Affects to be incorporated into a warp.

cj
I’m really liking my newest handspun socks I’m working on. Soft, squishy and colors so fun that I had to do 2×2 rib all the way to the heel flap just to show it off. This boys and girls is why I’ve switched over to only knitting socks from my own hand spun. I’ll have to check again but I think I am down to just a few more commercial sock yarns. And all but one I’ll probably incorporate into weavings. That leaves 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces Special Edition Sock from September 2007 in Cherries Jubilee. Knit up it looks like Brach`s Neapolitan Coconut Sundaes Candy. OK except for the green part. Maybe there was green on the wrapper? I never cared for them cause I don’t like coconut except in Ambrosia salad or Almond Joy bars.
brachs-neopolitan

So a holiday contest to win those last two skeins of Lorna’s Laces and some other goodies. Tell me in your comment to this post what your very favorite holiday candy or candy tradition is and I will use either Ruby or Rufus to choose the winning entry (or a random number generator if the cats are napping). I’ll take entries until the beginning of the celebration of Saturnalia (December 21 at 4:04 am PST (12:04 UT)

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 19:48:15

    Oh! I’m going to post a homemade holiday candy post later this week! It’s mostly written even.

    Ok, I gotta say that I lurves that yarn in the picture with a ridiculous amount of lurve. Is that the yarn for the contest?! Maybe I don’t want to tell anyone about this contest… 😉 My favorite holiday candy tradition involves all the different kinds of candy my grandma used to make and send to us each holiday season. She made incredible chocolate coconut bon bons, peanut butter cups, soft caramels, chocolate fudge, and divinity fudge. *helpless drooling*

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 20:03:46

    Mmmm, coconut. I inherited a secret family recipe for peanut butter balls from my late MIL. I also make peanut brittle and lots of cookies. This year I made rum balls, recipe courtesy of Roxy. My fudge sucks but I like other people’s. Mmmm, candy.

    Reply

  3. Adrienne
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 22:43:59

    I think my favorite holiday candy is one that one of my aunt makes. Some sort of toffee thing that she takes outside in the cold air and pours chocolate over. I haven’t had it in years, hopefully this time I’ll get some again since I’m not actually working that particular Federal Holiday this year.

    Reply

  4. Punkin
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 01:21:12

    I guess mine is more of a candy tradition. I had a grandmother whom I saw only a few times in my life, but every Christmas she would send us a 2 pound box of Sees Candy. That was an extravagant gift for my family when I was growing up, and it conveyed to me love from the grandmother that I rarely saw. It is now a tradition in my small family to have a box of Sees chocolate as a special treat at Christmas.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: A radical knitting development!
  6. Jan
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 05:00:18

    When I was a kid, my mother made chocolates for Christmas gifts. I liked the ones with the chocolate pudding inside. Mostly I remember my bloody knuckles–my sister and I were responsible for grating innumerable five pound bars of chocolate.

    Reply

  7. kristi and otis
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 05:25:27

    Hands down, my grandma used to make Dutch “fat balls” – deep fried and dipped in powdered sugar – more of a pastry than a candy but melts in your mouth. Now I have to track down my mom and see if she has her recipe.

    Reply

  8. trek
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 05:32:27

    I remember getting those plastic candy cane tubes filled with M&Ms in our stockings. My Neatnik saw one at the dollar store the other day. Need I even mention that of course I bought one to put in her stocking?

    These days, though, my tastes in chocolate have veered significantly away from the cheap and waxy to the smooth and expensive ::le sigh::

    Reply

  9. witchypoo
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 07:24:53

    Too funny – I never loved coconut and yet every year when I was little Mom made me a coconut covered cake. LOL! The sock yarn is beautiful!

    So here is my favorite holiday candy to make and give. It’s called Poor White Trash.

    1 sleeve of saltine crackers laid out on a baking sheet
    1 cup of sugar (white or brown) and 1 cup (2 sticks of butter) in a sauce pan brought to a boil – pour and spread over saltine crackers.
    Place in a preheated oven at 375F for 10 minutes.
    sprinkle one bag of chocolate chips over them when they come out of the oven and as the chocolate melts spread evenly over the cracker mess.
    Place in a cool spot then break into pieces.

    Salt, Fat, Sugar and Chocolate the four food groups right?

    If you want to upgrade to just White Trash – sprinkle chopped nuts on the tops before cooling.

    Enjoy!

    Reply

  10. Guinifer
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 07:31:10

    I actually found a contest before I read about it on Chris’ blog!!!

    My favorite candy tradition here is Peanut Butter Star cookies – we love those Brach’s chocolate stars – I have to hide them until I get the cookies baked.

    Reply

  11. Rae
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 07:36:40

    oh that is an easy one. my mother’s divinity and eggnog pie. the divinity recipe is for about 5000 ft which we are not so I only get it if she mails it to me.

    Reply

  12. CindyCindy
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 08:06:47

    We make fudge and buckeyes. The fudge seldom turns out and we eat it with a spoon. The buckeyes are wonderful……peanut butter and chocolate. Love
    ’em!

    Reply

  13. Sarah R
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 08:47:52

    My favorite Christmas Candy when I was little was the ribbon candy we got every year. It was a bare shadow of the chunky things they call ribbon candy these days. This was made of a strip hardly thicker than real cloth ribbon. It was satiny and shiny and could cut your tongue if you weren’t careful. It came in a box of about 12 or 16 flavors and I always had to be careful because the lime and the spearmint were very similar…and I love lime and hate spearmint.

    Reply

  14. melanie
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:16:20

    My favorite candy tradition: eating it.
    Oh, you want specifics… A friend gives us a box of Sees every year. We eat maybe 3 pieces at a time, and only on weekends – but those three pieces last us at least 1/2 hour because we split them up into 4 tiny pieces each and spend time savoring and comparing in-between sips of palate-cleansing tea. It’s really a lovely ritual – and it cuts down on the calories!

    I love the yarn. I would love it…

    Reply

  15. Cheryl
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:39:47

    My favorite candy growing up was the little candy pillows filled with chocolate. They were made of the same stuff as the candy ribbons and some looked like little packages with bows. I wonder what ever happened to those. Love the blog!

    Reply

  16. Turtle
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 09:41:40

    k, if yarn can contain calories…that yarn is sinfully delicious! I do not care for a ton of candy but do enjoy the holiday baked goods…way too much! Aside from a good ole standby butter shortbread i enjoy peppermint bark candy. The combo of buttery white and dark choc with just a touch of mint! YUM!! enjoy your holiday season, your weather sounds like ours!

    Reply

  17. kittyscreations
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 10:21:33

    I must say that my favorite holiday candy is peppermint bark. At this time I’ve only eaten the store-bought kind, but I hope to learn how to make it from scratch soon.

    Reply

  18. Miss T
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 10:30:11

    Ohhhh, those colors! That’s one of my favorite combinations.

    Christmas candy: I miss Fanny Farmer, because my parents always got me ribbon candy and foil-wrapped chocolates from there at Christmas time, both of which I love. And they don’t quite taste the same from anywhere else!

    Reply

  19. Beth
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 12:47:53

    My mom and dad were both teachers when we were growing up, and one of the popular teacher gifts at Christmas was candy. Part of our Christmas day fun was always trying out all the different kinds they got. The best…expensive chocolates, although I think Mom got those away from us quickly and hid them. 🙂 The worst…jello divinity…fruit flavored divinity made with jello, so it was not only fruity it came in bright colors. I might like it better now. Maybe. 🙂

    Thanks for the opportunity to enter the drawing!

    Reply

  20. Karen S
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 12:55:09

    my favorite holiday candy tradition is making chocolates and almond and marcepane candy with the family the day before Christmas… of course eating it during the following days isn’t bad either 😉

    Reply

  21. Laura Sue
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 14:43:17

    Oh, that really, really thin ribbon candy that is so hard to find any more. That’s the old candy tradition. The new candy tradition is Almond Roca. Mmm. Made in Tacoma, WA, BTW! But then there’s the incredibly cut glass candy that is just hard candy, but it looks like there’s a picture in the middle. I was fascinated by those as a child. I’ll stop now.

    Reply

  22. lsmithbendor
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 15:00:35

    Divinity — with cherries….divinity with nuts….plain ol’ divinity. I’ve never been able to get it to turn out like my grandma tho..and I’ve burned up more than one mixer motor trying!

    Reply

  23. 5elementknitr
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 19:58:15

    We used to get my mom a tin of Almond Rocha every year. She now sends us a box of See’s nuts and chews every year. Candy Karma? Love it!

    Reply

  24. ikkinlala
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 23:08:45

    I make truffles every year, but I think my favourite holiday candy is the chocolate-covered pretzels my aunt makes. Sometimes after she dips them in the chocolate she’ll roll them in chopped nuts or crushed candy canes.

    Reply

  25. Sydney
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 23:14:49

    I don’t think anyone in my family made candy. When I lived in the Washington state, my favorite candy was applets and cotlets. There was always planty right before Christmas. Then there’s usually someone around who makes peanut brittle.

    Reply

  26. Anne
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:04:35

    I make truffles, using a total cheater’s recipe involving a can of frosting and chocolate chips! But oh, are they delicious.

    Reply

  27. Shelvicious
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 11:58:40

    I don’t remember what it is called, but I love the candy made out of chocolate and chow mein noodles! Yumm!!

    Reply

  28. Karen
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 23:40:19

    Ok, so this is interesting… I dont make candy either! But my mom did.. great memories of helping her make candy to send to my brother in Viet Nam… yep. you remember that place.. he was one of the lucky ones who got the candy and who came home to tell us how grateful he was that we sent him care packages! In that package was fudge, cookies and this godawful divinity… so I guess my favorite of all that was the fudge… I guess the divinity was DIVINE… but I to this day just gag at the thought of eating it.

    Reply

  29. Mary
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 00:23:40

    Hmmm….Favorite candy tradition as a kid? It’s best described as the vicious circle of chocolate.

    So my older brother and I would pool our pennies to buy chocolates from Sees candy for our teachers. The funny twist was that we never bothered/thought/could afford to buy any for us. This didn’t matter all that much though, as my parents worked at a high school in West LA where all the teachers were on some kind of food restriction/diet so my mom and dad came home with more chocolate and candy than anyone could consume in a year…we’d sort though the stuff and keep what we liked (hmmm, is there a wonder I grew up to be a chocolate snob???) and then take the rest to our grammar school to share with our classmates…and maybe sell a little to our non classmates so we could have money to buy candy for our teachers the following year.

    Reply

  30. Rachel
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 05:17:59

    My grandma made loads of candy for christmas. She always made candies not cookies. My two favorites are peppermint bark and peanut brittle. The brittle was usually made in two batches-one plain and the other with coconut. The coconut one was my favorite, probably because the brittle was thinner and snappier. Now I need to write her and get all her recipes. 🙂

    Reply

  31. Kathleen
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 10:30:33

    Okay, well I’m here, late as usual. My favorite candy tradition doesn’t happen any more. Wah. My mom used to make huge batches of divinity candy and fudge for everyone in the family for Christmas, birthdays, and for any days when we thought we needed a jolt of sugar and some homemade comfort and love. Mama died of cancer two years ago (after a good long life and a 5 year fight with the disease), and no one makes the fudge anymore. I think I need to start that tradition again!

    Reply

  32. Trackback: The Marathon, A Time Sucker and A Contest! « Serendipitous Opportuknitty
  33. Jeanne
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 19:22:03

    Oh, I love those Brach candies – and I haven’t had them in years! I think my favorite holiday candy are peppermint candy canes. I know, pretty boring but a classic. Love the yarn!

    Reply

  34. Catherine
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 20:10:12

    Silly old plain Hershey’s Kisses for me, in red, green and silver wrappings. I only have a craving for Hershey’s Kisses at this time of the year and they must be in those colors. The other 11 months of silver wrappings cannot woo me in the same way. (They’re also better eaten directly from the little Christmas tree candy dish at my parents’ house, they way they have been for a hundred years, but that’s another story…) I just bought a bag last week when I wondered why my holiday season seemed to be missing something…oh yes! The Hershey’s Kisses!! 🙂

    Reply

  35. Marion
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 17:25:11

    Every year I make fudge, peanut brittle (the microwave kind), salted nut bars, oatmeal applesauce raisin cookies, chocolate chip cookies, caramel surprise cookies, cashew bars, and coconut caramel bars; I take a big tray in to work. Even if didn’t want to make all of them someone would ask about what ever I didn’t make that year – so I ususally make them all.

    Love the colors of the yarn!

    Reply

  36. Kelly
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 23:08:29

    We used to make chocolate chip cookies only at Christmas so when I was a teen, if I wanted to have that Christmas feeling, I would bake cookies. As for candy, I always loved the LifeSavers Candy Books. My brother and I would always get one for Christmas and it was great. I think that they had 8-10 rolls of LifeSavers in them so we had plenty of candy for a while.

    Reply

  37. Bobbie
    Dec 20, 2008 @ 23:39:35

    Holiday candy traditions? Ok, I have a few: the Divinity my great aunt used to make every year with black walnuts (I still think Divinity should have black walnuts and not pecans!), Buckeyes (graham cracker crumbs and peanut butter rolled into balls and dipped in chocolate to make a shell on the outside), and my mom’s fudge (which always tastes great, but almost never “sets up”, so we put the pan on the coffee table, hand out spoons, and scoop it up while watching holiday movies.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

