Waxing Gibbous

I won, I won!!!! I was in awarded the combined caption prize over at Stumblingoverchaos Chris’s recent contest.

scooter
My friend, Little Ms Hattie wearing her hat and scooter girl sweater set! And here I thought what I was knitting was so small. I have no memory of what size babies are. Our weather is finally alpaca and handspun weather. We may even get a bit of snow by the weekend since they said some kind of arctic front is moving in. At least it makes it hand knit socks weather.

heddlestyles
My newly woven scarf hasn’t been put away yet. It’s been left out so I can feel it and look at it every time I walk past it. The more I do, the more I like it. I finished winding my lavender warp last night. Tied off the choke knot, tied off the counting string. With take in the scarf should come out to be approx 12” wide. I think tonight I’ll try the “removable reed in rack” method of sleying. It’s some times used in warping a rigid heddle loom and some times used when warping front to back. I have 200 additional inserted eye heddles waiting for me at Weaving Works. I’ll pick them up when we go up to bring Graham home for the holidays. The Baby Wolf came with a combination of all three types of heddles A) Inserted or “Easy” Eye, B) Wire and C) Flat Steel. Blogless Kim just replaced her wire heddles with Texsolv heddles. I bet her Rasmussen is whisper quiet now rather than the crescendo of metal every time a harness is lowered. .

catnip-camera
I really cracked up reading this a couple of mornings ago. Click Here. It wouldn’t work at our house because it would just be photos of food bowl, water bowl and upside down views of the family room from nap perches. And maybe Rufus trying to figure out how to open the refrigerator door. One of Ruby’s favorite nap perches is in the carpeted tube on the cat tree at the 5 ft level. We’ve had this cat tree for at least 10 years and it looks like it. Carpet is shredded, sisal rope needs to be reattached, and entire sections of carpet are missing down to the backing. So lately I’ve been visiting the local pet big box stores in search of replacement. The replacements – or shall I call them poser cat trees are not of the same quality at any price. This one, brand unknown, was purchased at Costco for $99, is well over 6 ½ ft tall and is extremely stable. And the Ruby’s carpeted tube nap area is large enough to hide a big ol’ Maine Coon girl in and give her plenty of room for bathing in privacy. Any of the 6 ft tall ones I viewed and tested for wobbliness were, well, wobbly! Not to mention that the carpeted tubes are much smaller and shorter than what Ruby is accustomed to. And usually at a very low level. So I think I’ll be asking our resident mechanical engineer artist no longer in residence to recover the old tree while he’s home for Christmas. Maybe in a darker carpet like chocolate brown rather than the 1990’s pinky beige that it’s covered in now. Some day…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 11, 2008 @ 19:50:37

    Yours was an exceptional caption. 🙂

    Ah, babies – you’ll blink and that will be too small!

    My brother and SIL built the very simple but VERY sturdy cat tree we have. Did I mention that it was VERY STURDY?? There’s a place in St Paul that builds customer cat furniture. Hope they’re able to stay in business…

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 16:21:53

    My poor, deprived kitties don’t have a cat tree at all. I’m afraid that my kids would climb and destroy it before the cats had a chance to enjoy it at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

