What? No photos?

hill-lights
Ok so I loaded one just so there’d be one. That’s the house up behind us.

Great comments everyone regarding my worry about the weft not showing up too well. I figured out today (duh) that it also has to do with what light I am looking at the sampler in. Under my harsh nasty office lights (yes I brought it to work so I could ponder my dilemma. And I have a temporary office mate that keeps the overhead light on all the time.) the handspun weft shows up better and outside under natural lighting too. And late last night I started thinking broken twill, since twill is going to give me at least 2 threads of the same color right next to each other. So I don’t know why I was worrying. But I am still glad I sampled. It only takes me a few minutes to see how the colors are going to react together and the small 5.5” x 1.25” samples take no time at all to dry after a good soaking.

Graham will be done with his Fall 08 finals tomorrow and then staying on in Seattle for an additional week to work on his senior capstone research project before coming home for a quick Christmas holiday. He’s registered for his spring classes including one last physics class so he’ll graduate with his BS in Mechanical Engineering plus minors in both Mathematics and Physics. He called this morning to tell me he’d either caught a cold or has winter allergies and was walking over to the drugstore to pick up something to dry up his nose. Thankfully he doesn’t get colds too often. My brother on the other hand has had 3 full blown colds since September.

I’ve been considering getting Rufus, a.k.a. Mr. Wiggle Butt, one of those pet stairways so he can jump up on the bed easier. I’m just not sure if his now taking 5-6 tries to jump up is a little bit of kitty kat theater or if it’s because, face it, at 12.25 (about 66 human years) year old he an old man. If I could ever find a reasonably priced little stool while I’m out antique looking I’d pick one up and weave the upholstery fabric for it. Ruby, at 8 years (48 human years) old, still flies thru the air with the greatest of ease.

Santa sure was getting around this Saturday. I spotted him on a bright red Harley over by the mall and Blogless Kim saw him in Kennewick! The weather was nice enough on Sunday that I rode the Vespa around to run errands and go grocery shopping. Only ran into a few raindrops. In this low light I made sure to wear my bright yellow winter motorcycle jacket.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 18:27:01

    Aww, poor Rufus. 😦 That can’t be good for his dignity.

    Reply

  2. Hazel
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 20:04:51

    Several in my sewing group made a quilt like that (only I had the “special” fabrics)…the pattern is called Disappearing Nine Patch. You make a regular 9 patch block, cut it in half and again in quarters and reassemble the pieces to form a different pattern…fun, fun, fun. It’s a good quilt to snuggle under…enjoy. Happy New Year. Hazel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

