Pea Soup Season

Not to eat (whole ‘nother story behind that one) but to drive in. The past couple of mornings on the way to work we’ve been driving in pea soup fog. We live up on a hill and are usually pretty immune from it but as soon as we descend down towards the Yakima River it starts getting bad. And then as we turn north towards work we are between the Yakima and the Columbia River and it really starts getting thick.

no-more-fog1
Worse today than yesterday when I left on my commute. Yesterday I’d give the bad fog a 100 ft rating. This morning I had to be right under the traffic signals to see what color they were. About 5 blocks from the high school the traffic came to a halt and I figured someone had missed the light. But no, thank goodness, it was just people crawling at 5 mph I tried to keep lots of distance between the truck and the car ahead of me. And the big pickup behind me was good about keeping his distance too. See that picture taken at 10:55 this morning? The fog is gone but it’s still dark out. (greetings to all the folks that live somewhere where you get real fog all the time).

split-pea
The other pea soup story? Can’t eat it, won’t even try. It’s on my list due to an overdose way back in time. Janet and I were feeling pretty darn smug (we were 9 or 10 years old) because our parents let us walk down to attend mass together, walk home and then hang out at her place. When we got back we decided it was pretty close to lunch time so soup sounded in order. We heated up one can of Campbell’s Split Pea Soup with Ham and Bacon and shared it. It was so good we did another, and about halfway thru can number three we both said never again. This was way before it came in a low-sodium formulation. This was back when they dumped pounds of salt and MSG into soups to make them “flavorful”. We could have died!!!

seaweek-cowl
As I walked over to another building on campus this morning and noticed that at 31 degrees it was pretty frosty out. Good thing I’d packed one of my pairs of Knucks. I am in the process of binding off on the Seaweed cowl. I’m sure you’re getting pretty sick of hearing about it and not seeing a photo. So after lunch today I took a picture of it. Yet to be blocked grey cowl on a grey day. Me thinks scarf weather may be upon us.

gwl-project
Here is the beginnings of the GoodWoolLoom Pocket Loom weaving. The weaving is done, now just to embellish.

I rolled out the Baby Wolf last night to indentify (with Ruby’s help) which heddles were tied up to which treadles, took a better look at all the mechanisms, searched the far recesses of what’s left of my grey matter about how to best warp an 8H for plain weave and ran out of excuses on not warping it up this weekend. Actually I’ve been wanting to jump right in right away. I’d talked to Schacht and they said they cannot guarantee that the modern castle tray would fit serial number 8-2, but will guarantee that a Baby Wolf Trap will so I’ll be telling Santa about that accessory. I forgot to ask if the lamp holder needs the castle tray. But I should be able to find a clip light that will work. Sometimes Knitting Hubby likes to watch TV in the dark and it would be nice to have an Ott shine right where I am working. I can pretty much spin (and it looks that way I’m sure…) just from the light of the TV so I don’t need illumination to do that.

I picked up my annual Giving Tree card today. As almost always, I give to the local Pet Over Population Prevention folks and pets. Again this year I am making Critter Cage Cozies. <– that link will give you an idea of the program. We don’t have a formal one here where I live. (it’s quilts and blankies to go in the cages at the pet shelters). Studies say that the blankies both comfort the pet and make the pets more “marketable” giving them a higher rate of adoption. I usually pick our fleece with kittie or puppy prints, pet foot prints, a few plaids or camo for the hunting dog puppies and then a combo of either nice pastel for the mommas and babies or cheery little kids stuff for the toddler aged pets. A couple of years ago I found fleece in the remnant bin that had cats frolicking in yarn on it! Last year I made over 20. The finished size is around 18X24 but I also include some larger for biggie sized dogs. Some folks crochet blankies out of 2 strands of their favorite Red Heart/Patons/Vanna White yarn. Mostly the blankies just need to be soft, cuddly and machine washable. Your old beat up towels and washcloths are still a good donation for when they are bathing pets but not a good cage cozy because claws get caught in the loops. Ruby of course thinks that all the blankies should be knitted in double moss stitch in Rowan Chunky.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 22:38:25

    Ruby is quite the spoiled little princess, but I agree that all animals should have a snuggly, especially when they’re in such a scary place. My mom used to make pea soup a lot because it was inexpensive. She always made huge batches and after about the third day we’d be gagging. As a result I’ve never made it for my girls. Maybe I should try sometime.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 06:32:00

    Aw, that’s a very good cause!

    The wee weaving looks lovely. The pea soup fog? Not so much.

    Reply

  3. Nicole (ikkinlala)
    Nov 22, 2008 @ 23:15:31

    I’m glad the fog went away!

    I would never have thought of the marketability aspect of pet blankets.

    Reply

  4. Hattie Jane's mom
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 19:13:25

    Yay for you knitting for kitties!

    Reply

  5. elizabeth
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 14:10:01

    I love your Seaweed Cowl! I’ve been wearing mine a lot lately, it’s perfect for Alabama winters when you want a little something, but not too much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

