The crop

If your long term memory serves you, you’ll remember that we planted our garden in oh something like June. Great tomotoes, zukes, herbs, cukes, a pepper or two, some flowers. I planted a few rows of carrots in the front of the house. They are directly in line with the automatic sprinklers. I planted figuring that by October 1 I would be rolling in sweet delicious carroty goodnesss. Well no.
entire-crop

This is how the entire crop came out! Dozens and dozens of these gourmet carrots (after thinning during the summer). I should have put a dime or a pin head next to this carrot for scale. I’ve eaten a few of them and even though they’re only 1.5″ long and 1/16″ in diameter, they are full of carroty goodness.

leaves-on-maple
Early this morning, for me at least on a Saturday, I mentioned in an email what i hoped to do today: watch 350 yds of generic wool/mohair blend dry over the heater vent, rake leaves into a couple of big piles, having one of the local boy scout troups blow out our sprinklers before we get a hard freeze, a motorcycle ride with friends, then back to spinning. What didn’t fly? The motorcycle ride or the spinning. Instead I pulled together a crock pot dinner of leeks, carrots, potatoes and chicken in a creme sauce. Oh yum!!! No picture sorry. Tomorrow? not sure. I had the Boy Scouts bag up most of the leaves and put them where the trash man can pick them up Monday.

I had some bobbins to clean off so I plyed yesterday. This is from roving I picked up at the Richland Farmers market. It’s from Fehrenbacher Farm in northeast Oregon, just south of the Washington border. It was just marked wool/mohair, not a very soft hand but does have a nice halo. It goes in the weaving pile.
pre-thwack
post-thwack

Knitting wise I have been doing a couple cowls. Cowls are the new scarves you know. On is the Seaweed cowl n some of my handspun and the other is the, well I’ll have to look it up for when I finally take some pictures of them.

Here are a few more photos I took in Seattle last weekend.
volvo-wagon

the-scream

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:09:21

    What an adorable little carrot! My sister grows monstrosities and I always tease her about their phallic nature… apparently you just don’t need big carrots.

    That’s an unusual sign/billboard. What is it for?

    The spinning is gorgeous. Those colors compliment each other beautifully without any garrish competition. Hope you enjoy a lovely Sunday afternoon.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 11:02:06

    Hmm – looks like you were growing preshredded carrots!

    Reply

  3. Hazel Spindler
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 15:22:03

    That car must have come from Wisconsin….rust from all the winter salted roads….looking something like mine. Hazel

    Reply

  4. Jeanne
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 15:23:27

    Sorry the carrots didn’t come out as planned – I wonder what happened? The yarn is so beautiful – great color! Sounds like a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  5. jessie
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 11:35:43

    We got two gnarled carrots total this year, a far cry from the long, tapered beauties that grew so well last year. Go figure.

    I’m just catching up on blogs, so forgive my inattention. Great pictures, and a great tattoo! (A good friend of mine just got her license this year so I’m seeing a lot of tats lately, but none for me!)

    Reply

  6. Kathleen
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 06:44:33

    I love your spinning. Mohair, hmmm…I never knew what mohair was like until we got our goats several years ago. The first yarn we spun was gorgeous but itched like a pack of briars. Into the weaving pile to make a belt, which still exists despite several years of use. Gorgeous stuff, but it was fiber only a goat could wear. But for rugs? Oh, yes! Absolutely the best!

    Interesting little gourmet carrots you have there. Maybe they got too much water? I love garden carrots, and have raised many of those tiny ones just like you have here, but they sometimes take more time to prep and eat than I’m willing to spend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

