Reporting in from the middle of nowhere

No pictures in this post cause it’s spitting dinner plate sized snowflakes out when it isn’t raining and I don’t feel like retrieving more bags from the truck. We are currently in zip 57638. We are 4 hours north of Rapid City, 3 hours south of Bizmark ND. But at a very nice Inn! We toured town, had a few drinks at the American Legion hall and now have settled down for the evening. Our hotel has wifi, but we are hours from any ATT cell phone or Blackberry (sorry work, I can’t see your emails) service.

Some of you already know why we are here and thank you for your private messages. I am lucky to have two MIL’s. One MIL is Knitting Hubby’s bio-Mom, usually seen here commenting as HLS. My other MIL is Knitting Hubby’s adopted Mom. She lost her current husband on Monday and we are here for the funeral. In a weird twist of small world, Norman (who passed away) was also my cousin a few times removed. (long story that requires a couple of glasses of wine, a cocktail napkin and some Flair pens in different colors to explain). So my being here is two fold.

I know, I know, Kim, I did start another sweater with out finishing anything else. But this is a top down raglan in that Rowan Chunky that the likely hood of it getting finished is high since my other recent finished sweaters have been in the same yarn, different colorways and patterns. I am on ball two of the yarn and it’s coming out nice.

I’ve been taking lots of pictures which you will see in a few days. My 13 month old Canon 30D now has close to 2700 photos taken with it. Knitting Hubby claims that well over half of those were taken in Alaska last year just on Beluga Whale alone.

The weatherman just said (broadcasting from Billings MT) that the predicted snowfall will be a record breaker for this time of year. Oh no!!! Hopefully he wasn’t talking about 6 hours east of Billings.

Time to turn in. More later.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy-Cate
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 20:44:23

    I’m so sorry.

    The weather probably fits the occasion or the mood, in a way. Except that snow is never suitable when you have to be places on time and look semi-presentable.

    And snow in October is evil. Been there, done that, but E-V-I-L. Hope it’s not continuing on to zip code 546xx….sounds too close for my comfort.

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 05:05:59

    I hope the weather straightens out a bit for you. Thinking of you and KH and your family.

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 07:49:27

    I’m very sorry. Take good care of yourselves and your family, and have a good trip home.

    Reply

  4. Kathleen
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 08:25:10

    I’m so sorry for the loss. Be careful in the snow! While I’m here on the other side of the equator, I can still feel the Wyoming winter winds whipping around me, carrying snow with it…blowing into drifts, blocking roads, filliing my driveway…

    Silly, I know, but I miss it. Light a warm, crackling fire tonight and get cozy!

    Reply

  5. Kim, the blogless
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 09:59:09

    Hey, I’m sorry to hear about Norman and send caring thoughts to all of you. You only started one sweater?? In life situations like this I’m pretty sure you are OBLIGATED to start at least 3 shawls (one Estonian), 4 pair of socks (although given your passion for mittens/knucks you can substitute for socks), one cable sweater, one Norwegian sweater, and one blessed relief, easy knitting sweater which is the only thing you will actually work on. Oh yeah, my prescription for you requires a moss stitch blankie, in the Ruby size.

    Now for DH, I prescribe IMMEDIATE purchases of yarn from THE Schoolhouse for two Aran sweaters…and a vest. He can cast on for all, which should also require plentiful needle purchases…only three pair of manly, handsome socks in colors that you approve of (Hah!), one elegant cabled shrug for the R girl, and a reversible cable scarf on big needles which is what he is actually allowed to knit on for the moments of necessary knitting oblivion.

    This is to be followed by a full weekend of spinning classes on your return where you are required to sit in the back of the class, chew gum loudly, and make disparaging remarks like ‘Oh coool’, ‘Yay, I think I’ve got it!’

    Wow, I’m good at this knit docta! thing, I should totally quit my day job…. but I like yarn to much so … Ok, enough…please take care and drive carefully too. k

    Reply

Leave a Reply

