The cross country challenge

Knitting Hubby and I are taking a road trip starting tomorrow morning heading to the Dakota’s for a week. So of course our minds went to “what knitting shall we pack”??? I could bring along one of my many Sleeve Island Special edition sweaters to work on, my most recent socks that are at the 77% done mark and my Annie Stole if my additional yarn comes in today (I decided to make it even longer, smooth move after buying the yarn last February). But no. I think I am going to challenge myself to another Cosmic Pluto sweater!!!

I came upon a stash of my (and Ruby’s) favorite Rowan Yorshire Chunky Tweed in the Pecan colorway (note to Rae: this is not the same color as the Carrot Cake sweater) on Ravelry a few weeks ago at such a nice price that I could not pass it up. I also have about a skein each of 3 or 4 other colors in it so I could even do some colorwork on the sleeve cuffs if I start to run low in the Pecan department.
Here is the colorway.

Not to be mistaken for Carrot Cake.

And for you fellow PNNL knitters, not to be mistaken for our new branded colorways Pantone (R) PMS 1385 or 1675.

And according to the Easy Top Down Raglan V 2.0 pattern by Laura Chau, I have enough boxed and ready to go. Laura’s raglan sweaters are a cinch to knit (remember Mom’s Callie Cardigan?) she has easy to read clear instructions and knit on size US10’s I should be able to knit this up in a 3000 mile road trip!!! Oh I’ll take over driving once in a while so Knitting Hubby can work on his camo socks and other knitted delights. Don’t worry.

I got “found out” during last Friday’s Friday Night Knit Night. My line manager from work happen to be parked/reading over at one of the small tables right across from our giant herd of tables that we meet at. He noticed me there and waved. Yesterday at work he asked how long I’d been part of that knitting group (and as he says this his hands are making little knitting gestures). I said oh like 3-4 years or so and he couldn’t figure out how he’d never seen me in the group! And then he said he’d never pictured me as a knitter. Well ok so he’s only been my boss since January and he doesn’t know me very well, and he pictures me more as a fellow motorcycle rider but how does someone get pictured as a knitter or not???

I’ll try to publish from the road. Hopefully I’ll have some nice pictures of trees turning!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 12:43:30

    Have fun! Hee hee – you’ll have to get one of the pictures of Elizabeth Zimmermann riding behind the Gaffer on his motorcycle and knitting and put it up at work. 😉

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 17:56:56

    Have a great trip. I’m headed that way Thursday. But only to Helena. We be making a pit stop in Butte to Great Harvest and Pork Chop Johns.

    Reply

  3. Dave Daniels
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 03:19:36

    Ahhhh, I remember my treks across the Dakotas. Twice. They’re B-I-G states, with lots of wonderful scenery. Have fun and knit lots.

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 06:36:18

    Most people settle for travelling socks… you are amazing! I hope you have a safe and wonderful trip. Please take lots of pictures to share.

    Reply

  5. Hazel Spindler
    Oct 09, 2008 @ 02:30:55

    Safe trip…I’ll look forward to your pictures, you capture the essence of the place you’re in. hls

    Reply

  6. visitor
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 12:21:36

    yikes, never let the world know (www) you’re leaving town, thieves will know to target your house (and know how long they have).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

