Aligot

Aligot, the word rolls right off your tongue, the same way the dish rolls right into your mouth! I made meatloaf for dinner tonight since it is supposed to be fall out. (it was 64F when I put the meatloaf in the oven so not so fall temperature) What’s aligot? It’s a traditional potato dish from the Auvergnat region of France. Mashed potatoes whipped into a garlic frenzy with lots of melty cheese. Total yummage! Does this have anything to do with knitting? No.

Remember I started that Chullo? Well it’s coming along, about 90% done and too ugly. A combo of some of my handspuns which are fine together with some malibrigo which is fine on its own. Together a fugly hat. So what to do what to do. I know, frog it and knit a Thorpe hat instead. Maybe.

I am so excited. A couple of us spinners will be going to a local for once 2 day workshop given by Celia Quinn Oct 18 and 19 (plus a public lecture the evening of Oct 17). Of course I am supposed to work Oct 17 in the evening and Oct 18 but I already told them NO. These workshops are too few and far between. I am really interested in the Spinning to Specification day. Knitting Hubby is going to sign up too. (Just checked today and there were a few slots left)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 06:33:59

    The potato dish looks and sounds yummy. No picture of the hat?

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 07:17:40

    You have to post a picture of the too-ugly-to-exist hat before you rip it…

    Reply

  3. Michelle
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 18:10:39

    I’ve made my own version of that, but never knew it was a real dish! I love cheese/potato/garlic mixed!

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    Oct 08, 2008 @ 22:48:32

    oh that just sounds yummy! I will have to hunt down a recipe for that. BTW, almost done with the hat.

    Reply

  5. Miss T
    Oct 10, 2008 @ 07:50:58

    Sounds wonderful. And being well fed has everything to do with knitting, I think!

    Reply

  6. Jill
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:11:46

    Hey! This has nothing to do with knitting either, but I’m curious (and desperate): What cheese did you use in your alìgot? I want to replicate the impressive rubber potatoes I had when I lived in France, but am not sure what cheese will do the trick. There they used Tomme d’Auvergne (‘Tomme’ being French code for ‘unripened’). I should mention I’m in America, as I get the sense you’re not..

    Please do send me a message when you get a spare minute!

    Reply

  7. Jill
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 22:14:40

    p.s.: my email is jillyc at hotmail dot com, in case your site does not log addresses

    Reply

Leave a Reply

