The annual traditional first day of school picture

Every year I torment Graham with “wait, wait, we need to take a picture” of his first day of school. If I really dug deep I could probably find most of them. Pre-digitial are in albums and stuffed in drawers, later the digital on CDs and DVD’s and 1TB hard drives scattered around. Usually Graham had a backpack on the ground next to him, in later years it was Graham standing next to his car with the Mom, I need to leave for school now look on his face. The past four years it’s been pictures of him moving into his dorm and then apartment. Here is this year’s.

He is in the same building as last year but a floor down and looking east instead of west. A studio apartment rather than the one bedroom with a room mate. And a lot less furniture. I must say thought he has a lot more square footage than the studio apartment I lived in with Olaf the Cat, for my junior and senior years of college. The studio has pretty much a full kitchen with full sized refrdge, stove and oven. and a smaller kitchen sink. Plenty of cabinet space but not much counter top. Good sized open pantry closet. All shown in the above photo. The bathroom has both undersink and over commode storage and an OK sized shower. He has a decent sized walk in closet (no door though). A study desk with chair, a dining room table and chair (in photo), a big bookshelf, a single bed and a night stand. I suggested he put his bookshelf in the closet and we’d buy him a small Ikea sofa or futon chair. His apartment is maybe a 5 minute walk to the engineering building’s back door.

On our way to Seattle we stopped at Weaving Works where I purchased 8 oz of Falkland and some assorted Jacquard dye colors that I didn’t have. We met Rachel for lunch at Zao’s at U Village and then went over to the Apple store. Graham wasn’t kidding. They sure chopped it up. I think it’s maybe 1/3 the size it used to be and annoyingly small. Looked at the new Nano’s. Nice nice nice. Don’t need on though. I use all my other Apple products nearly every day – iPhone, 80G iPod, MacBook, and a neon apple green Shuffle. On the way home we stopped at Hilltop East. Didn’t need anything, didn’t buy anything.

On the way up and back I worked on mitten number two. I just have about 3/4 inch to knit before the fingertip decrease and the thumb and it’s done. Then I’ll take and post a picture. Fall is in the air (until Friday when it will be in the 90’s again) so I’ll be working on my Katmandu Aran wrap again. And three sweaters worth of sleeves that have been vacationing on sleeve island since last year. I keep swearing to myself that I can’t start another sweater until I finish at least one. I just want to make a Knitting Pure and Simple Neckdown Pullover 9724 but I won’t let myself. I don’t think. Even though it will go fast. NO NO NO.

Hi Betsy!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 09:50:55

    Hahahaha! I made my girls take their own first day of class photo when I wasn’t around to do it for them. It was back when I believed I had influence!

    Reply

  2. Hazel
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 05:27:58

    Graham’s apt looks similar to mine, minus the furniture. Fall fast approaching here too…beautiful sight with the turning of the colors. hls

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 16:26:39

    Oh, the bliss of not having a roommate!

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 18:50:08

    ahemmm… Isn’t Grahams roommate…. his girlfriend… ? Come on Mom… its OK!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

