Alive and well thank you

All work and no play has made kitkatknit a boring blog. 12 hour work days but at least I don’t have to work weekends. Yet. This may recover things I’ve already posted but this time you get to see a few pictures.

I think I forgot to mention that I went to a Chicago concert a few weeks ago. If you are even half a fan and they are in your area, go see them! I went with Randy and Karen (Knitting Hubby was still in New York at that point)

The week before Knitting Hubby was to return from New York he took a second trip into NYC to see the musical “South Pacific” on Broadway. One of my favorites, I am so jealous! One day when he was walking around looking at the sights, he spotted a couple on bikes, with this baby (only a few months old but already gigantic) kitty sleeping in their bike basket. Note that this is fiber related since there is a crocheted blanket in the basket.

Knitting Hubby also continued his museum hopping, this is a detail from the painting “Don Manuel Osorio Manrique de Zuniga” by Francisco de Goya y Lucientes. I just love the wide eyed cats watching the bird and the string.

Over Labor Day weekend we went to, anyone? anyone? Bueller? Bueller? Yes of course we went to Bumbershoot in Seattle. The weather was fantastic and I had a lot of dedicated sock knitting time. I saw a few other knitters but didn’t have my camera on my when I did see them.

We saw more great concerts. Neko Case, Lucinda Williams, Jakob Dylan, Joe Bonamassa and others and some we thought were just OK or not our favorite genre. Beck, Band of Horses (boring), Stone Temple Pilots.

I bought raspberries on our way out of town but they didn’t even last till Easton.

This weekend I spent cooking (and having a great time doing it). Gala apples were only $0.75/lb at the market so I have a batch drying in the fruit drier.

Tonight I broiled rockfish and served it with Salade Russe. The recipe warned me it was going to be PINK! Came out yummy. For dessert I made Flora’s Famous Zucchini Cake by Nigella Lawson. Lemon curd filling between the layers, it really hit the spot.

Back to work tomorrow.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. heideho
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 22:07:45

    Aaaack, zucchini! I’ve lived in western Washington my whole life and have yet to attend bumbershoot. Isn’t it ironic that it was sunny and bright for the festival? The concert(s) sound like lots of fun. Your husband can be forgiven his metropolitan travels and adventures because he sends you great cat and fiber pictures. Those are some crazy hours. Don’t wear yourself out.

    Reply

  2. Rae
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 06:43:16

    So good to see you are still kitkatknittin around!

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 12:13:24

    Love that raspberry photo. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

