You may already be a winner

At least I was!!! I won one of the daily July prizes at the Second Annual Yarnapalooza extravaganza. Barbara Bretton sent me a copy of her book “Just Desserts” and a yummy skein of Zen Yarn Garden sock yarn in the Starry Night colorway.

Last night I got in the hat knitting mood and plunked out a quick “Flower Power Hat” for my little friend Hattie Jane. I was able to use some of the orange alpaca from her baby bolero jacket and bits and pieces from my handspuns.

Blogless Kim, No longer wheel-less Nancy, Famous Jessica and I headed down to the Columbia River to spin under the trees for the afternoon.

We spun, ate our lunches and snacked on Wensleydale cheese (isn’t it a rule somewhere that you have to eat sheep cheese if you are spinning??).

Later Kim looked for her Kromski’s birthday, found it and also found out that the wheel was signed by someone named Ian. We were wondering if Spin-O-Lution Mach 1 wheels have a serial number somewhere on them. We never could find one on Nancy’s Mach 1.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 21:27:54

    Even though I don’t spin…yet, that looks like an amazingly fun afternoon.

    Reply

  2. jessie
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 05:54:55

    Blog catch up. Sorry ’bout that.

    Love the spinning outside thing. Have you tried a Mach 1? I am fascinated with them and want to check one out.

    Love the hat.

    Love the insects.

    Love the old photos.

    Love the Maine coon.

    Love it all.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 06:48:45

    Congrats on your win!! Amazingly great prizes from that contest. 🙂

    Reply

  4. beth
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 13:04:02

    That looked like a great time! I love getting together with fellow spinners. Congrats on the booty.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 20:04:03

    I am so jealous of a baby… I want a hattie hat… 😦 Oh yes, I can hear you now… why dont you knit one you knothead…as you know I am knot a knitter… I aspire but have no real desire, and probably will expire before the desire to knit a hattie hat for same knot knitter….) OMG, I do need another rum and coke…

    Reply

  6. heideho
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 08:20:08

    Outdoor spinning looks delightful! I won a copy of the same book as well as some yarn too. Love the hat.

    Reply

  7. kathleen
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 11:36:13

    Congratulations on your win! And the afternoon at the river looks like it was divine. I’m so envious! We’re in chilly, damp winter here in Lima (Peru), with no gorgeous river bank to spin on…ours are all covered in trash. Uuuufff. Still, I can sit here and imagine that I’m on the river bank, swatting mosquitos and spinning to my heart’s content!

    Your photos are beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

