Good fortune


I should be extra lucky today!! Why? I was visited by a Green Darner Dragonfly at 5 am. It flew in the car window and sat on my pant leg while I drove. Minded its own business and then a few miles down the road flew back out. The Green Darner Dragonfly is the Washington State insect and have been around for about 300 million years. They must be doing something right! And dragonflys bring good fortune. I love watching them in the summer in our yard. They’re very large, iridescent and eat pest insects. I didn’t have a camera with me and it was kid of dark out anyway so I’ve borrowed this picture. This one was I estimate between 3.5 and 4 inches long. Kind of makes me want to dye some Green Darner sock yarn. I have blanks just waiting for me and the dye to do it with. Sounds like a good weekend project doesn’t it.

Why you might ask was I driving at 5 am? I was going to have my hair done. I’ve been going to the same hairdresser for 20 years and I either have to make a regular appointment and take off work or show up at the ungodly hour of 5:30. And its well worth it. She does a great job of covering my grey. I had her lop off 6 inches of hair. Also had her look and make sure I wasn’t damaging my hair by donning and doffing my motorcycle helmet umpteen times a day – no problem she said – everything looks great.

I’ve had garden visitors again this week.

A few weeks ago I’d been at our local used bookstore picking up a book that Knitting Hubby ordered. I wandered around for a long time looking for something to read. Nothing by an author unread my me looked interesting, none of the biographies, I’ve read almost their entire supply of travel essay books (I think all the copies there I’ve read and turned in for credit over the years). I ended up with a fiction book, CIA type stuff. And I’ve been trying to read it for two weeks. Boooorrrrriiinnngggg. zzzzzzzz So last night, I ran to Costco mid evening and then decided to go to the bookstore and pick up a copy of “Three Bags Full”. I am hooked!!! It is so engaging that I don’t want to put it down! Now I am wondering if the Audiobook version is just as fun?

I’ve done a little pre-drafting. This is superwash merino from Crown Mountain Farm. It is as yum as it looks.

Rufus and Ruby say hi!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kmkat
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 18:21:57

    Rufus and Ruby look an awful lot like my En Esch (soon t be featured in a post photo).

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 18:25:48

    Dragonflies are cool. *sigh* I need to go in and get a few inches lopped off my hair, too.

    I loved that book! Hi, Rufus and Ruby!

    Reply

  3. heideho
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 12:02:43

    Lovely insects! Lovelier kitties! The roving looks cheerful. My roving arrived from Wisconsin, thank you very much. It’s fabulous and I’ve already filled one bobbin. Cheers!

    Reply

  4. Hazel
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 18:50:58

    Your Crown Mountian merino looks almost edible (like taffy). I had a dragonfly light on my pantleg one time too, I wasn’t as cool as you, I flung it off quickly…like shooing away good luck, huh? hls

    Reply

Leave a Reply

