Extremely non matchy matchy mittens

Unlike someone we know who shall remain nameless cough cough Chris who can only knit VERY matchy matchy socks, I revel in knitting non matchy matchy! Maybe that’s why the un-named person is a computer guru and I’m not. When I saw 102 yards of bulky handspun over at Etsy for $6.99 my first thought was mittens. I split the yarn into 2 balls by weight but ran out leaving me one finger tip and two thumbs short. I quickly spun up some almost matching chocolate Lincoln roving from a local ram named Squire. He lives about 4 miles from me.

Spokesmodel Rufus says they taste great. Note that I couldn’t get him to model them so I had to employ some local wines instead.

Knitting Hubby recently has been Spinning Hubby. Here’s some longwool from Bellwether I picked up at Black Sheep Gathering for him. There had been two hanks but one was “loaned” to Spin-o-licious (no longer wheel-less Nancy’s Mach 1) while we were in Eugene.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 18:38:05

    *head explodes from the non-matchy matchy*

    Reply

  2. heideho
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 19:42:08

    I love the non-matchy matchy! I love Rufus’ profile, he has such a noble chin. I love the yarn spun by Knitting/Spinning Hubby.

    Reply

  3. Miss T
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 10:10:30

    Non-matchy-matchy is the best! We artists have to stick together. :o)

    Reply

  4. Hazel
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 16:37:19

    Love, love, love those mittens. hls

    Reply

  5. Nicole (ikkinlala)
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 12:27:14

    I love the non matchy matchy mittens!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

