It’s 333 miles to Eugene, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark, and we’re wearing sunglasses.

Ok so we didn’t have cigs cause we don’t smoke. But we left the Tri’s with the tank of gas, sunglasses and money in our pockets. We returned with less money (I think we all had a few dollars left), lots of fiber and tired from all the fun packed into our 40 hour marathon trip to the Black Sheep Gathering this weekend.

WOW. First I want to thank Jessica, Kim, and Nancy for the fantastic time we had. WOW. And sorry Heide that you weren’t feeling well so you spent money without our guidance and left early. It looks like you made good choices without us though.

The trip went a little like this. Jessica drove her Honda Civic, promising we could shoe horn 3 spinning wheels going down to Eugene and 4 coming back. We were skeptical to say the least. Kim drove over to Jessica’s. Jessica, Kim and I all met over at Nancy’s and we left from there. We made it down the road about 4 miles before we had to make a potty/coffee/road food stop at a local Shell station. Then we were set. We took turns grinding thru the Civic’s 5 speed manual transmission and arrived at Multnoma Falls a few hours later. SCORE!!! Artists from the Grand Ronde nation were demo-ing hat weaving, basket weaving and pigments made from local rocks. We met Deloras, the basket weaver and carver and didn’t want to leave. She was the coolest person EVER!!! (ok, Heide, you’re cool too, guess it’s a tie) We wanted to kidnap her and take her to BSG with us. I think she wanted to go too. She told us all about how to prepare Dogbane for spinning and weaving. And told us we shouldn’t prep it the traditional way of biting it since it is poisonous. Well I don’t think that is the problem. The Latin name for it is Apocynum Cannabinum Apocynaceae, a.k.a. Indian Hemp.

We reluctantly hit the road and made it to the fairgrounds in time for our sack lunches. We were so disciplined at this point, eating our lunches before we “allowed” ourselves to start flying through the vendors, buying everything within our grasp. Kim and I headed for Woodland Woolworks, while Jessica and Nancy disappeared. By the time we found Nancy over at the Crosspatch Creations booth, she was knocking over any one and any thing in her wake, trying to touch the Bellwether Spin-O-Lution Mach 1 that was going to be hers if she had to kill for it. Ok so I am (almost) exaggerating! Nancy was gracious enough to allow us to try out her new wheel. And let me tell you, it spins like a DREAM!

Buy the time Saturday’s vendors were closing for the day, we were about shopped out. There were so many distractions that I only made it through 2/3 of them. We spun outside for a while, it was wonderful.

Then we drove over to Springfield and checked into our hotel and tried to figure out where to eat by looking in the phone book. Not much help till I saw the word Rogue and realized we were in Rogue beer country. I asked my iPhone for directions and it (and Jessica’s car) delivered us to the Rogue Brewery door. I’m not kidding. We got a parking spot right in front of the door!

I like Dead Guy Ale so that was an easy choice for me. Jessica had the hard job of choosing 4 beers for her sampler.
Dinner was good, a few of us (not me) ordered dessert. I just don’t know if I’d like a beer float or a beer sundae.

After dinner we walked around downtown Eugene. Really enjoyed all the public art.

Then back to the hotel to roll in our purchases and spin till we could spin no more. Sunday morning we figured our best bet was to carbo load so we’d have the energy to continue “visiting” BSG vendors. Again we employed the assistance of the iPhone. I typed in “pancakes eugene OR” and number 3 on the list was “Ye Old Pancake House”. Sounded like exactly what we needed. That and a few gallons of coffee.

By mid-afternoon we had run out of fiber shopping energy, sad I know. We were just putting off he daunting task attempting to pack 4 wheels, all our purchases and our overnight bags. We figured if we had to leave our dirty undies, and our pillows in the fair grounds parking lot so as to fit all the fleece and fibers, so be it.

We didn’t have to leave a thing!

We were home by 10 pm after a few more coffee stops. Which brings us to this question and contest. How many total ounces of caffeine were consumed in the 666 mile round trip in 40 hours? You have until Thursday June 26 midnight. Closest person gets a goodie bag. Leave it in the comments. (total was based on size of cups and mugs since we can’t figure out how much space the ice displaced in diet cokes.)

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Blogless Kim
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 21:24:07

    I was so tired at work today, I encouraged the interns to have a contest where by one of then consumed a bottle of tabasco in 1 min 30 sec. He managed to pull it off in exactly that amount of time and is now owed 8 Hagen Das ice cream bars. That is if he makes it through all the aftereffects, which he did not know to expect. I’m pretty sure this is a breach of the safety first rule, so if I am fired as a poor example of senior software engineer expect to support me in my new endeavor as the Chili Death Dye works!! I’m spinning my lovely Blue Moon Fiber Firebird color way and wishing for a Louet Victoria spinning wheel.

    Thanks girls, for a GREAT weekend. k

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 05:14:48

    Umm… 666 ounches? 😉

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 06:46:47

    I’m guessing about 2400 oz of caffeine. Just a shot in the dark. What a lovely adventure. I’m slightly envious. Looks like a huge haul.

    Reply

  4. heideho
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 07:01:56

    My guess is 1080 ounces… wait, do I get to guess? I’m really bummed that I couldn’t have stayed down there longer. I’ll bet the car was ready to pop with all of the clothes, wheels, roving, etc. A man could never have packed it and made it work. Did they really mix beer and ice cream? Steinbeck wrote about that in Cannery Row. Nancy’s new wheel is da bomb. Will you put up more pictures of your haul? The friend we picked up ended up getting homesick so she only stayed for one night. Kim, Tobasco Sauce? Where do you work and why was the youngin’ willing to sell out so cheap? Dang, I need coffee. Cheers!

    Reply

  5. bruisinraincloud
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 07:53:04

    I am uber jelious. I need that truck. I need it to be that full of goodies. LOL

    I would love to guess at oz. of caffene………..ummm I am going to guess 2008 ounces. *grins*

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 07:59:46

    My powers of the maths say 1440 oz. Looks like a grand time was had by all. I am saved from overwhelming jealousy as my visit to the Estes Park Wool Market was only last week. I am having instead itty bitty pangs of envy.

    Reply

  7. Linda G.
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 10:36:34

    Important info you may need someday: Best beer float is Young’s Chocolate Stout and Starbuck’s Coffee Ice Cream. Mmmmmmmmmmm!

    Remember: friends don’t let friends knit drunk.

    Reply

  8. KeanaLee
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 12:12:08

    Looks like a great time & the beers look tasty! Looks liek you all made out lke banditos!

    Reply

  9. kmkat
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 20:24:49

    I’ll guess 1498 ounces. In case of a tie, contestants must guess how many bathroom breaks were required to lose all that caffeine.

    Let’s see the haul!

    Reply

  10. Kelly
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 22:12:35

    I am going to guess 725. And that doesn’t count the chocolate!

    Reply

  11. Trackback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Geographimetrical
  12. Knitmomma
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 02:35:25

    1965 oz 🙂

    Reply

  13. trek
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 05:15:05

    Since there was beer involved, I’m going to assume that each knitter/spinner consumed an average of eight 16oz cups of caffeinated beverages per day. Forty hours is 1.67 days. Therefore, my estimate is: 853.3 ounces.

    Sounds like a great time was had by all!

    PS – Yes, I realize my inner math geek is showing, thank you. ;o)

    Reply

  14. Stacey (just Stacey)
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 06:06:51

    I’m guessing 1200. It sounds like such a lovely time. Now if I had been along? About 5000. 😀

    Reply

  15. Panda
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 06:24:42

    I’m going to guess 824.

    Reply

  16. Marsha
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 06:49:58

    My guess is 360.

    Sounds like a fun trip!

    Reply

  17. Turtle
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 07:09:56

    Hmmm, 318 ounces (i figure that was about 5-16 oz coffees per gal) It sounds like such a great weekend. I so need to meet some folks around me who enjoy knitting /spinning and make some friends! Although i would have passed on the beer float/sundae…the sampler yes!!

    Reply

  18. Turtle
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 07:11:33

    oops change that to 477, i didn’t see caff bev’s, i thought just coffee! smile

    Reply

  19. Miss T
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 09:33:24

    I have no idea how much coffee you drank, but I sure wish I could have joined you! Looks like big fun.

    Reply

  20. Trackback: Contest links, etc. « Serendipitous Opportuknitty
  21. moiraeknittoo
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 14:29:09

    Randomly surfing in from Chris’ blog…I’m gonna go with 888. Because I’m lazy and my finger twitched on the number key. 😀 Sounds like you had a marvelous time! I have some serious envy.

    Reply

  22. Pam
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 15:21:43

    640 oz. And at least 4 bathroom breaks each direction 😉

    Reply

  23. Diana T
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 18:27:35

    Sounds like a wonderful time! I guess 1961 oz.

    Reply

  24. Nicole (ikkinlala)
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 21:40:42

    I’m going to guess 520 – it looks like you had a great time!

    Reply

  25. Cinnamoon
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 08:48:58

    2519 oz

    Reply

  26. Gladys
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 09:30:02

    How about 420 oz? What a fun trip!

    Reply

  27. 5elementknitr
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 10:14:50

    I’m gonna say 1,056. What a great trip!

    Reply

  28. lisa
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 19:05:46

    Found you at Chris’s… sounds like you had a blast! I’ll guess 2020 oz. (I’m figuring four of you, 20 oz cups x 5 a day x 2 days plus one extra for some caffeine junkie), besides 20 20 is fun to say…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

