Hey guys, look at me, I can see over the edge!

At least this baby robin could until Momma came back and shoved him back into the nest with a swift kick.


Today after a trip to the farmers market and some stuff in the yard, I sat down to warp my Kromski Harp. Our usually large farmers market was pretty lonely. About 1/3 of the vendors are missing, I think because of fuel costs as most of them drive pretty far to sell. I bought Knitting Hubby’s favorite bread, a batch of rhubarb and some breakfast radishes (what ever those are!!).

I decided to use my large batch of Green Mountain Spinnery Cotton Comfort yarn to weave a scarf. Maybe for Mom’s birthday if it comes out nice. Cotton Comfort is 20% organic cotton and 80% wool. GMS describes the yarn as light, casual but elegant. And suggests that the resulting fabric be finished by gently washing it in lukewarm water using a vegetable oil based soap and quickly spin drying in the washer. mmmm, should be interesting. I’d bought the yarrow colored yarn a few years ago, on clearance sale, to do a short sleeve sweater. Never got around to it.


Ruby was content for the day since she found her beloved Rowan Moss Stitch swatch to nap on. Rufus watched through sleepy eyes from above.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dave Daniels
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 03:30:08

    That’s some beautiful weaving. I’ve been considering a Harp loom. How are you liking it? I used to weave on a rigid heddle back in the 70’s and 80’s, and know I’d use up a lot of my yarn weaving instead of knitting. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Chris
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 09:29:32

    Strange, I can honestly say I’ve never considered having radishes for breakfast.

    Reply

  3. beth
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 13:50:09

    I am now going to have to add you to my watch list of rigid heddle loom weavers! I love what you are doing! Can’t wait to see the finished project.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

