The party starts here – not

The day started with Knitting Hubby and I walking downtown to meet Hazel and Linda at the Daily Grind. A fantastic coffee/cafe we’ve frequented before.

I also enjoyed all the old coffee tins.

Well all enjoyed our coffee but made sure we skipped the great looking breakfasts due to the next stop on our itinerary.

When I wasn’t adding row upon row on my Danish Tie Shawl, I was looking at beautiful Amish and Mennonite barns.

Our next stop? The Norske Nook in Osseo WI where we had lunch followed by award winning pie. They were the American Pie Council’s 2008 National Pie 1st Place Champions in Commercial Pies. You know me with raspberry pies, KH and Hazel had lemon meringue, Linda enjoyed her pecan cream cheese pie.



Here is a behind the scenes look at the pie station. The meringue is estimated to be 9-10″ tall on this pie.

Our next stop was the Quilt Yard. FUN FUN FUN! I got supplies to make some fun quilted pin cushions and turned down a fantastic deal on a Pfaff sewing machine. I went back into the Quilt Yard about 3 more times trying to make up my mind as to whether or not I wanted it (yes), needed it (no).


We returned home via the Chatty Belle route.

And yes Chris, Linda and I stopped for beer per your suggestion/question.

And the party? Well when we went around trying to find a wine opener to open our dinner wine, even this guy didn’t have one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    May 21, 2008 @ 07:00:17

    Just not Wisconsin without cheese and beer! 😉 Back before I went GF, the Norske Nook was a favorite stop when driving to Madison, Milwaukee, or Chicago. Mmm… pie as big as your head…

    Reply

  2. deb
    May 21, 2008 @ 09:04:57

    I’m having such a great time on this trip!

    Reply

  3. Karen Kimbler
    May 21, 2008 @ 09:51:43

    Hey hurry back we miss you.. love the photos.. I am jealous..I need a vacation again soon..

    Reply

  4. heideho
    May 21, 2008 @ 13:07:33

    THank you for the pattern! The trip sounds lovely and I gained a pound just looking at pictures of the pies, mmmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

