Right town, wrong time

We head out tonight on the train to the home of Knitting Camp, Marshfield WI! I’ve packed and repacked and just thinking if I didn’t have to bring a rain jacket, more than a single pair of shoes, and at least three knitting projects, I’d be packing a much smaller bag. It seems huge. It is HUGE!

Of course we’ll arrive in Marshfield too early for Knitting Camp so we’ll have our own. MIL Hazel has started knitting again and has been working on socks (right Hazel?). SIL Linda is a quilter (MIL too) so there will be plenty of fiber related activities going on while we are there.

For any of you brave enough to get up early on Sunday morning, I’ll treat you to bad train station coffee if you see us at the Minneapolis Amtrak Station when Train number 28 is there for its long stop from 7:05 – 7:50 am. We’ll be the one’s with knitting in hand and a desperate look for coffee on our faces. (if you think you might try to find us, email me for my cell phone number)

Ciao!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy-Cate
    May 16, 2008 @ 07:40:22

    Think of me as you go through La Crosse a little later that morning! At a much more reasonable time….
    It’s just a stop and go stop; I’ll be in church right then, though, so not waving to you (singing in choir right about the time you come through).

    Though I do have to go pick up my train tickets for a trip to Chicago in June; too bad I can’t do it that day, I totally would come wave at you! But they won’t let you get off there.

    I LOVE train knitting! And the stretch of scenery along the train tracks from Minneapolis/St. Paul to La Crosse is among the prettiest anywhere. The train follows the Mississippi River for most of the way. And you’ll probably be awake after looking for coffee in the Twin Cities!

    Someday I WILL take the Empire Builder back your way, sleeper car and all. Totally. I’ve been wanting to do it for 25 years. (Maybe if I plan ahead for Sock Camp next year….that would be so relaxing to take the train….)

    Have fun at Sweater Camp! If I hadn’t blown my discretionary travel/knitting money on Sock Camp, I would have been there with you!

    Reply

  2. heideho
    May 16, 2008 @ 07:44:32

    A train ride + knitting sounds like a delightful way to travel. I hope you have a wonderful trip.

    Reply

  3. Chris
    May 16, 2008 @ 08:11:19

    Alas, I can guarantee I won’t be up that early. 😦 My allergies are kicking my butt and I really need to do catch up sleeping all weekend. Have fun!

    Reply

  4. Hazel
    May 16, 2008 @ 16:59:51

    Counting the hours…enjoy the relaxing journey and scenery…the beautiful spring green colors are beginnning to be abundant here. Linda and I will be there to meet you. hls

    Reply

Leave a Reply

