What we did last weekend

(and I forgot to mention)
Thursday – I went to the Hanford High School musical “Singing in the Rain”. Entertaining but not one of my favorite musicals. The best part were the films that they included as part of the musical, one as a silent film and one as a talkie.

Friday. – Friday Night Knit Night. Yup we closed the store. Or maybe that was the time before. Either way we stayed way late.

Saturday – Dave and I went on a lunch date. Soup and beer at Red Lobster. Then we headed over the the convention center for the annual quilt show. I take pictures every year and burn them to CD for MIL Hazel and SIL Linda. (though I think I forgot to mail the 2007 CD). I don’t take pictures of everything (450 plus quilts this year), I may not take pictures of the award winners (to each her own), some are great but I can’t stand the color scheme. I just take pictures of the ones that intrigue me. Oh and the People”s Choice each year since it is the same guy every year and his work is exquisite. So here are a few. I am going to start with a quote by one of the featured quilters because I think it applies to knitting too.

Old Time Treasures by Evelyn Sloppy, 2003. This is another quilt that started with a group of rust and brown fabrics that I just had to have. Then, I had to design a quilt around the fabrics. I didn’t have enough fabrics and had to add to it from my stash but that confirms my belief that we need large stashes. When I am working on a quilt, I don’t want to take out the time to run to the quilt shop to find more fabric. If you have a large enough stash, you’re bound to have just the fabric you need.”

See just substitute the word fabric with yarn and the word quilt with any knitted object and the quote fits.

Here’s a few for the Mayor of Cabin Cove. Detail of a quilt with embroidered antique sewing machines. And a Singer from 1887, part of the giant collection of antique machines displayed.
featherweight-1.jpg
1887-singer.jpg

Detail from a quilt done from drawings that 1st graders did for their 1st grade teacher. This one is so precious!
1st-grade.jpg

I found the colors on this detail very pleasing.
purple-green.jpg

Here’s the People’s Choice and a detail from Jess’s work. (if I find his last name I’ll post it here)
peoples-choice.jpg
peoples-choice-detail.jpg

I like this one. A bit wild but I like it.
brown-squares.jpg

We just got a text message and picture from Graham. Somehow he is at the Mariners game in the home plate corporate seats. How’d he score that?
home-plate-gb.jpg

And what does Rufus say about all this? a) the brown squares would be great since my cat hair wouldn’t show. b) enough with the quilts, when’s dinner? c) get a life Mom.
boring.jpg

p.s. I am in a spinning mood. Must go stare at the roving stash for a while.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Apr 02, 2008 @ 20:29:15

    That first grader bit is so cute!! Love the tufty ears there on Rufus. Wish my kitties had tufty ears.

    Reply

  2. Dave Daniels
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 11:08:48

    That’s a GORGEOUS hand crank machine. I wish mine looked that good. Hmmm, note to self: Set up the old cranker and take some pics.
    It looks like a lot of fun at the quilt show, but I’d be happy with lunch at the Red Lobster. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hazel
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 19:17:04

    Ya, Graham…is it who you know, or what you know that got you those seats…great view. Can’t wait to see the quilt show pics. hls

    Reply

Leave a Reply

