March wrap up

I’m still working crazy hours at work, but they promise it will be getting better. Some weeks long hours, some weeks goofy combinations of hours. No real internet access but luckily if I stand on one foot and spin around three times standing in the right spot I get access to ATT and thus my iPhone. That has saved my sanity a bit. Actually every time we have a few minute break everyone takes out their Blackberrys and iPhones (2 of us and funny thing, we both have the same iPhone case) till we find signals and answer our emails. Meanwhile back at my regular office, I moved around the corner to a smaller office but on that is in the quiet end of the building!! Celebrate!!!! It’s so quiet at this end of the building that it’s almost like working a weekend here when there is no one around. Still trying to figure out/fine tune the furniture situation. And my office chair finally broke. It won’t stay in the full up position anymore, it slips down to the full bottom position. Yuck.

I promised some pics from Easter weekend. Here is the group we took out to dinner on Friday night. Beth goes to Western Washington U, Rachel graduated from George Washington University in December and is working while waiting for grad school to start up in the fall, Graham goes to Seattle U, Lucas and Holly are transferring to Western. Nice group of kids, they all graduated from the same high school within a 5 year range.
dinner-photo.jpg

While window shopping on 1st in Seattle we spied this cute terrier and his ceramic friend.
two-terriers.jpg

Not in Seattle but rather one of the great cat art pieces Knitting Hubby always finds for me.
bonnard-white-cat.jpg

Spring may be here on the calendar but we have been having strange weather. It’s probably like this every year but I forget one year to the next. Just seems like we’ve had to run the heater longer into the year this year. Last week and through the weekend lows were in the 20’s, highs in the 40’s and it would snow on and off. Not snow that would stick but flurries that you could see and say – hey its snowing again. This week is supposed to be real spring with temps in the 60-70’s. So yesterday I mowed the lawn, took more tumble weeds to the field, raked the flower beds, and then thought about buying some of that lawn patch stuff. About then it started drizzling so I put that thought to rest for another time.

Oh this is a knitting blog? I am about halfway thru the Annie Stole, adding an inch or two every time I pick it up. And I started another sweater. The fitted cardigan pattern is by Aurora Yarns (I think an old one since I can’t find reference to it anywhere) and I am knitting it in a wild purple plum yarn by Ornaghi. Knitting Hubby was spelunking is his yarn stash last week and found his knitting books from the early 90’s. Included was the Rowan Book 8 (I think it was) that had the Chunky Fair Isle sweater by Kim Hargreaves that is my oldest UFO. I’d forgotten how beautiful it was. KH and I went to the local quilt show this weekend. More quilts than ever, less that I truely liked. Antique sewing machine display was fun though. I did like the new venue at our convention center.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 11:36:44

    It’s snowing here, with totals of up to 8″ possible. Hmph.

    Reply

  2. Hazel
    Mar 31, 2008 @ 19:32:13

    What’s up? Is it snowing EVERYWHERE? Bad one here today…I left the house with spring jacket and tennis shoes and returned home at 1:00 pm after scraping 6″ of snow off my car and sliding all the way home. Yuk! Did see my 1st robin Saturday tho’ so we’re gettin’ closer to Spring. . Graham looks great! hls

    Reply

  3. jessie
    Apr 01, 2008 @ 03:00:57

    I am picturing you sitting at your desk in the quiet end of the building, with just the top of your head and maybe your eyes visible from your seat on the broken chair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

