Let’s see, what have you missed?

I am slowly working my way through my bloglines. I guess we all get behind at blog reading at one time or an other and March seemed to be my month.

I guess I’ve mentioned that I’ve been on a new work assignment all month. Getting my exercise climbing scaffolds observing large scale tests and experiments and operating a lot of computer operated control systems. It’s different enough to be fun and the people are real nice. Some of them I’ve known for over 25 years, others are new to me.

I started my annual Vespa full time commuting a few weekends ago only taking the truck to work when the weather is super yucky or the weather guy claims something is coming during the day. So I’ve missed two days since the 9th. Weather guy claims we are supposed to get snow tonight. What!? We’ll see.

I started the Callie cardigan March 3rd and finished it March 23rd. Just need to block and sew on the buttons. Back to my regular knitting, I am 36 inches into my Annie Stole and bought some Jo Sharp Silk Road Aran Tweed at Hilltop East for some gloves. The 5% cashmere in the Annie Stole’s Kathmandu Aran yarn actually makes a difference in the feel of almost identical yarn to the Jo Sharp. And costs nearly $2 less for the same yardage. My vote – the Kathmandu.

My Mom’s last sibling passed away last Thursday in New Jersey. Aunt Helen was 85 or so. Mom was the youngest child, her parents lost their first child in the flu epidemic in the early 1900’s, her brother was killed in WWII, her oldest sister passed away 5-6 years ago after suffering for 14 years with Alzheimer’s. Last time I visited Helen was in 1991 and over the years talked to her a few times via phone. Helen and my Mom talked once a week on the phone until early last week.

Rufus spent Easter Sunday at the local pet emergency hospital again. Again with the intestinal blockage. So now he’s back, on antibiotics, tummy enzyme adders and tuna flavored kitty stool softener. He’ll be on the softener 2-3 times per week forever. Sorry to be graphic but since a boat load of us are pet parents you know how it goes.

This Thursday Ginny and I will be going to the Parents Dress Rehearsal of the Hanford High drama department’s “Singing in the Rain”. We’ve been going to the dress rehearsals together for 7-8 years now. Ginny’s son had most of the lead parts over the years and Graham always played the accompaniment on the bass. Sometimes it was full orchestration, most times Graham was part of a 2-4 piece combo. Parents dress rehearsal was always a good time to take a couple hundred photos for the students. And if the yearbook photographers forgot to show up I always had backup pictures for the annual.

Well time to pill the Rufus.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 05:59:41

    I’m sorry to hear about your aunt. 😦

    Poor Rufus! Does he at least like the tuna flavored stuff he has to eat? I have tuna-flavored petromalt for Chaos and May and they love it.

    Reply

  2. Heide
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 16:32:42

    Poor Aunt Helen. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss to you and your family.

    Scritches to Rufus.

    I’m still planning on “borrowing” your cardigan should you be foolish enough to leave it unattended at Packwood.

    Reply

  3. Hazel
    Mar 26, 2008 @ 16:33:22

    My condolences to you and your Mom. It snowed here yesterday and forecast for the weekend. The news man made the comment that it was 77 degrees last year at this time…what happened to global warming?? Poor Rufus. hls

    Reply

  4. sophiekat
    Mar 28, 2008 @ 17:54:58

    aw, poor rufus! i hope he takes his pills better than my girls — i usually need to don protective armour to even think about it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

