Spring sprung sproing?

I noticed this morning when I went out to grab the paper, that I had some kind of flowers coming up in the perennial garden out front. Funny thing is I never remember planting them or anything in that location so I have no idea what they will come up as. As long as we don’t have a freeze, I should find out soon. Today is the first day that I saw some of the local trees budding and there is the faintest tint of green covering the hills surrounding us. Time to clean the flower beds. And get rid of more tumbleweeds.
tulips.jpg

The kat kids let me sleep in until 8:30 this morning, I made coffee, grabbed my knitting, talked to Knitting Hubby on the phone a few minutes, knitted a little more and then went to our local antique spring show. It’s getting pretty sad. It used to take up three buildings out at the fairgrounds and is now at a local arena. It’s been there a couple of years and each year there are less and less vendors. This year the vendor aisles were moved much wider apart and the center section from front to back had food, drink and wine vendors. The wine part is new, and all the food used to be out in the foyer. They’d also put in a stage for the antique clothing fashion show. I bought a Fireking small casserole and a little rabbit rowing a lily pad that I’ll take a picture of when I remember. This was an expensive trip. I usually get out of there (the antique show) for under $5. Today I spent a whopping $12.

Oh I could have spent more. One of the vendors had two of the sewing machines that the Mayor of Cabin Cove owns. Both came with all accessories, one was in a little rough shape and the other for $20 more was beautiful. So tempting but I walked out without one (I would have bought the good one and now that I am looking at the prices on line… they would have been a steal) and can’t go back tomorrow because I work all day.

Brag Alert (and it’s not family members I am bragging on) I think I’ve mentioned that Graham and his friends in high school were a pretty talented bunch. While I was over at Ginny’s house yesterday, Jared (Graham’s best friend since the 4th grade) called twice while I was there re: summer job offers. First he called to tell his parents that he got an offer to be the drama teacher at an exclusive summer camp in Maine where the camper fee is $15,000 for a couple of weeks of camp. He has 10 days to make a decision on that one. Then he called an hour later to tell his parents that he was offered a spot in a summer Shakespeare festival in Minnesota. Then this morning I got a call from another friend of mine who’s daughter recently found out she won the regional (7 state) best actor award for the Irene Ryan scholarship (yes, that Irene Ryan) and will be performing at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC in mid-April. Jared performed there last year at the same time Graham was racing in his National Human Powered Vehicle competition in California. End Brag Alert

Knitting news? Yes. The Callie Cardigan is coming along very nice. (at Ravelry) Mom is hoping that it will come out a little small so I will be forced to give it to her. I am keeping this for me to wear during Packwood weekend.
callie-progress.jpg

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    Mar 08, 2008 @ 19:36:42

    Gosh, that’s nice of your mom. 😉 Hee hee. Is there someone you can send to buy the sewing machine tomorrow?!?

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 0033cc - Only a geek would understand » Blog Archive » Spring sprung sproing?
  3. Rae
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 07:53:24

    Isn’t it great that the spring flowers are starting to pop up. This means baseball and camping for me and Scootering for you!

    Reply

  4. Cathy-Cate
    Mar 09, 2008 @ 18:11:42

    I would say those are hyacinths, or some variation thereof, maybe. If the multiple feet of snow ever go away, I might see mine. But it’s supposed to warm up this weekend, after a chilly weekend, hooray!
    Liking the cardigan here!

    Reply

  5. heideho
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 19:02:44

    I second the hyacinth call. They are my most favorite bulb. If you leave Callie unattended at Packwood she might just dissappear. Congratulations to you for Graham’s friend’s offers and also for your friend’s daughter’s scholarship. Maybe you should celebrate by buying yarn. Just kidding!

    Reply

  6. Miss T
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 15:07:39

    Ooh, I’m dying for the first spring antique show!

    Reply

  7. Rosalinvv
    Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:37:41

    i am gonna show this to my friend, brother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

